Customer Service Manager (Female, Age 37) in Pflugerville, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Customer Service Manager in Pflugerville, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service Manager
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPflugerville, TX
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
over 300 employees and we provide different types of services for customers such as residential and commercial pest control, lawn services, termite, handyman, and organic lawn and pest control

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Manage a team of 30 CSR’s who take inbound phone calls to schedule different services. Work on projects to improve routing, call monitoring, GPS, and quality control. Handle all customer feedback.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation, 5 sick days, health and dental insurance, 401k, profit sharing, cafeteria plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel like I am compensated fairly for what I do on a regular basis average for the year.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Work with over 150 different employees. Some days I really like it and some days I hate it. Enjoy working with different types of people but don’t like having to do others jobs.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Work on several teams with coworkers. I work really well with 4 coworkers and we organize and tell everyone else what to do. 2 of those managers have worked at the company for over 20 years.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCheck Email, Make Schedule for day/ week, Run reports. check phone messages
8am to 9amWatch phone volume, Answer emails, Answer Questions from employees, Have face to face meeting with employees about issues in their departments.
9am to 10amAttend meetings such as staffing, budgets, or quality monitoring Talk to coworkers about issues with staff or departments.
10am to 11amWork on daily projects such as employee bonuses, employee reviews, answer customer questions
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmAnswer Emails, go to meetings,
1pm to 2pmTraining Programs with employees to help train them on different things happening within the group. Copy the pages and make sure the projector is set up in the conference room.
2pm to 3pmSit with employees and provide the feedback. Listen to phone calls and give feedback about conversation. Observe the CSR on the phone using computer programs.
3pm to 4pmWork on Training programs that i will be using for later classes. Use Powerpoint and meet with other General managers to work on training about different programs rolling out.
4pm to 5pmGo thru desk and make a things to do for the next day check customer feedback thru internet
5pm to 6pmListen to employee Phone calls in my office listening thru laptop speakers. Fill out quality monitoring forms to give to employees.
6pm to 7pmListen to employee phone calls in my office listening thru laptop speakers. After filling out the forms, track them on a quality spreadsheet.
7pm to 8pmGo home
8pm to 9pmGo home
9pm to 10pmGo thru email to see if anything happened after I left work
10pm to 11pmWork on training documents for next day
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet job site thru the newspaper

What was the application process?
submited resume, filled out paper application, met with vp and was hired

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had to interview for the job. There was only 1 interview with the vice president. After I met with him, he hired me on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the job was made for me and didn’t exist before I worked there.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, the training was being a CSR in the past and knowing how to do my employees jobs.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I don’t have any education past high school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I didn’t have an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Work as a CSR and learn how to do the job the best and then teach others how to do it.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to be very patient, organized, understanding, flexible, customer focused, tech-savvy, enjoy solving problems, detail orientated.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no just love of working with people and helping others

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard and be open minded. Listen to all solutions for problems since other team mates for good opinion.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t really have a career plan so I am happy where I am today. Although, I don’t see myself working here forever.

What are your current career goals?
Earn enough money to not have my spouse work Work a different schedule such as 4 – 10 hour days, work from home

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy working with customers and people daily. I do like to solve problems and not do the same thing daily. I like people to rely on me for help.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Trainer8 years35000Trained new hire employees during a 12 week training process to take inbound calls from financial customers.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:B-

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.