Inside Sales Representative (Female, Age 22) in Carmel, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Inside Sales Representative in Carmel, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleInside Sales Representative
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCarmel, NY
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am not sure of the size – we are the US distributer for Head/Penn/Mares

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Outbound and inbound sales calls, order entry, customer service over phone, misc other tasks and projects as they come up

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 30 sick days, optional health/dental/vision insurance, 401k, etc

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under-well, somewhat in the middle

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes – I work with a team. I enjoy working this way rather then working on my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to work – some traffic and rainy comditions
8am to 9amArrive at work. Start up computer. Check emails/voicemails and turn on phone at 8:30. Reply to emails and take a couple of calls from outside sales reps.
9am to 10amEnter orders that came through email into SAP (computer system used at my job)
10am to 11amContinue to enter orders. Take a couple of phone calls from customers. Place orders for both of them. 1 order for diving goods and 1 order for winter goods.
11am to 12pmMake outbound calls to dealers on my call list. Make a couple of sales and enter the orders. Drop these orders to my warehouse for same day shipping. Drop orders for co-workers.
12pm to 1pmLunch break
1pm to 2pmcheck emails/voicemails that came through while I was at lunch. Log into customer service phone system to help take calls.
2pm to 3pmlog out of customer service phone system and make outbound calls. Enter faxed in orders from dealers. Also, drop a couple to wareouse orders for co-workers.
3pm to 4pmContinue to make outbound calls to certain dealers and take calls from dealers. Take 15 minute break. Enter order that came in through email.
4pm to 5pmRun end of day report. Make sure all orders entered today are dropped to warehouse. Enter last order.
5pm to 6pmTurn off phone. Shut down computer. Leave – commute home in somewhat heavy traffic.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Was contacted by a recruiter

What was the application process?
Submitted resume to recruiter. Had put resume on monster.com and recruiter emailed me

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. There were senario questions and industry knowledge questions. 1 interview with manager of customer service and HR manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember, but they were different senario questions that could happen in this type of job and how I would go about fixing them.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I was given 3 weeks of training in all areas that I would need for my position. I was completely prepaired when my training was done.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was some training on the system used here as well as phone and product training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I had taken some communication classes in my 1st year of school that greatly helped in this position-both verbally and written

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Post your resume on monster and look for a customer service/inside sales job in the winter sports/diving/tennis industry. Maybe start in a retail store and then move up (this is what I did)

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Excellent computer and phone skills. ability to problem solve and get along with others. Must be organized and have good data entry skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Know the product/industry and have some computer training.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Brush up on computer skills and learn the product.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, This position is a good entry level position and will help to start my career

What are your current career goals?
I would like to get my degree and eventually work for the government in the USGS.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Key accounts rep1 year34000Customer service position (below) with added responsibilities including dealing with large accounts.
Prior Job 2Customer Service Rep6 months32500Average customer service position with same company that I am with now. Included:answering phones, entering orders, responding to emails, misc other projects.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5SUNY PurchaseEnvironmental Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.