Realtor (Female, Age 38) in Pomona, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Realtor in Pomona, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRealtor
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPomona, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company I work for is small, about 8 people. It is a real estate and loan company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I use a system called the MLS in which I am able to locate and list properties for sale. I then use my networking skills to obtain clients and ofer my services via my experience as a Realtor. i help them find and or buy houses.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I am self employed, i buy my own bebefits and I decide when I go on vacation and for how long.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i work with other agents and i dolike it very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a professional office. i do wish it was a bit bigger.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amThis is a typical Monday. I wake up at 6 AM, jump in the shower and begin getting dressed and ready. I look at my day’s agenda to make sure I know what is going on for the day. By 7 Am i wake my 4 year old up and begin getting him ready and give him his breakfast. I usually take my vitamins and make a quick shake for me.
8am to 9amWe are out the door by 8 AM, dropping him off at day care. I then head into the office at 9 AM. I commence my day by reviewing stus on my real estate files from the previous day.
9am to 10amFrom 9 AM to 11 AM I am on the phone cold calling potential clients. This is busy time. I have a small script I read from which I have added my own persoanl touch. The purpose is to build a rapport with the person on the other end. Hopefully they will become a potential client or know of someone who can use my services. NO EXCUSES!!!
10am to 11am11 AM I take a 15 minute break. Usually grab some coffee or water.
11am to 12pmFrom 11:15 to 12:15 I am out and about prospecting, door knocking or visiting properties. At this time I pass out business cards and meet with potential clients.
12pm to 1pmAt 12:15 i take my lunch until 1:30.
1pm to 2pmFrom 1:30-2:00 head back to the office to obtai the list of clients who I will show properties to.
2pm to 3pmAt this time I either meet the client’s in my office or I meet them at a convinient location and I am showing properties.
3pm to 4pmI usually stop showing properties by 4 PM in order to make it back to the office and write up offers.
4pm to 5pmBy 4:15 I am eriting offers and submitting them to the selelrs agent. I then finish up with my clients and review messages on my phone, access information needed for the next day’s activities.
5pm to 6pmOut of the office by 5 PM and off to pick up my son.We are usually home by 5:30 PM. My husband and I altrnate days where we can go to the gym for at least an hour until 7 PM.
6pm to 7pmDuring this time we are making dinner and spending some quality time as a family. VERY IMPORTANT!
7pm to 8pmBY 7:30 it’s clean up time, prepping for the next day and bath time for our son. He’s usually in bed by 8:30 PM. Then my hubby and I get to spend some alone time together.
8pm to 9pmWe try to be in bed by about 9:30 PM and start all over again 🙂
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a friend.

What was the application process?
I took my license and then submitted my resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
My interview was very informal. Just sat with the owner of the company and talked about my goals.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about experience, management skills and knowlegde about the market.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think the preparation was very hands on.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because I am bettera ble to build rapport with people.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First, research the field, talk to successful agents and possibly shadow them for at least 2 months.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
people and selliong skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, You need a real Estate License.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Stay on top of the paperwork and always set a schedule you can follow.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, because eventually I want to become a broker there.

What are your current career goals?
To increase my broker knowledge.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It has it’s ups and down but, if you are focused and determined, business will always be available.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Realtor12 months35000Real estate buyers agent.
Prior Job 2Realtor12 months50000Real estate buyers agent.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Cal Poly PomonaPsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.