Operations Manager (Male, Age 26) in Charlotte, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Operations Manager in Charlotte, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOperations Manager
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCharlotte, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My employment is with the NC Army National Guard, current paygrade is E6. I work for a Communications Company with 51 employees that focuses on tactical networking.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Responsible for Operations and Training management. All aspects of both operations and training; planning, securing funding, coordinating resources, etc. Responsible for tracking and getting employees all required certifications.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation + holidays, Tricare health insurance, pension plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Not really. I dislike not interacting with others more, and only having 2 other fulltime employees in the Company.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I dislike being stuck behind a computer all day.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work around 7:45am with the exception of drill weekend (arrive for work at 6:00am). Mon-Wed-Fri I go to the gym and run (alloted 3 hours a week to work out).
8am to 9amCheck email, put out fires and check schedule for meetings/deadlines. Make a plan for the day for what to accomplish, typically I track my tasks in Excel.
9am to 10amWork on projects. Current project is Physical Security (creating a binder to track requirements; ensuring all required documentation and plans are available, if not create them; come up with a security plan for all Company keys).
10am to 11amTake time to upload training requirements and plan into the Company’s web-based training tracking program. Select specific goals for the upcoming weekend drill and incorporate tracking.
11am to 12pmLunch. Typically a working lunch with my boss and coworker.
12pm to 1pmContinue working on Physical Security project, work with coworker to ensure vehicle and equipment keys are stored properly and there is a system for accountability.
1pm to 2pmTypically by this time there is a requirement that has come down last minute such as a training event or tracking entry.
2pm to 3pmTackle the last minute requirement be it securing part-time workers to come in for an event or finding, calculation and submitting training information.
3pm to 4pmContinue working on Physical Security project, coordinate with higher headquarters for help with several questions that have come up about the project.
4pm to 5pmTypically leave work around 3:45-4:15pm. If I’m in the middle of finishing something I will stay as late as 5:45pm. Again drill weekends are different, typically here until 7pm.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Full time postings on the State’s website. Already being a part time employee is required.

What was the application process?
Already enlisted in the NCARNG for several years, submitted application packet, board interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One board interview with 3 interviewers: position supervisor, full-time manager (the big boss) and a 3rd individual chosen at random to ensure race/gender diversity of the board.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Many questions specific to systems and processes that the job uses. Questions regarding related experience. “Why should we hire you?”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I applied for a position of responsibility greater than I had held before. It was rough for the first year until I really learned what I was doing.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None with the exception of on the job. Operations management positions typically require experience.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I have no college education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I held no internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get management experience on your resume and move from there. Always seek greater responsibility even if you are unsure you are ready for it: don’t say no to a challenge.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational skills, the ability to track multiple projects at one time. Patience for interruptions, the ability to incorporate your supervisor’s goals and vision.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Proficiency in the actual operation that is being managed and training as a manager.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Do not expect to be fully up to speed until you have 1.5-2 years of experience.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. Once my tour is over I will have 3 years of operations management experience and very good bullets for my resume. I have a long list of responsibilities that will look very good to future employers.

What are your current career goals?
Obtain an autonomous position with a six-figure salary that requires leadership and determination but allows plenty of family time. Whether I open my own business or work for a large corporation I want the autonomy to get my job done and go home. If the work for the day is done at 2, I want to be able to go home at 2 and not be questioned as long as I am meeting my goals.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1911 Operator2 years31500Answer incoming emergency and administrative calls and decide what action is to be taken. Dispatch police units via radio.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.