Nanny (Female, Age 35) in Huntley, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Nanny in Huntley, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNanny
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHuntley, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am self employed as a nanny.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for the full time care of a 2 year old and part time care of a 9 year old. I also am responsible for cooking, light housework, transportation, and laundry.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
It requires me to work with children and their parents.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in my client’s home. I like working in thier home because it is comfortable and everything needed for my job is within reach.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt 7am I wake up the kids to get them ready for the day. We pick out their clothes and they get dressed. Then I feed them both breakfast. After breakfast they brush their teeth and wash their hands and face. Then we make snacks for school for the 9 year old.
8am to 9amAt about 8:05 we leave the house to take the 9 year old to school. I usually return to the house around 8:30. I usually wash the breakfast dishes and clean up the kitchen while the 2 year old sits at the kitchen table and colors or plays with a puzzle.
9am to 10amThis is “down time” for me.. usually time to play, read, or watch a movie with the 2 year old.
10am to 11amThis is “down time” for me.. usually time to play, read, or watch a movie with the 2 year old.
11am to 12pmI usually begin preparing lunch for the 2 year old around 11:15 and feed her. Then it’s time to clean her up, clean up the lunch mess.
12pm to 1pmFrom 12 to 2:30 or so is naptime for the two year old. I am usually doing laundry or other housework during this time. I also take a break during this time.
1pm to 2pmFrom 12 to 2:30 or so is naptime for the two year old. I am usually doing laundry or other housework during this time. I also take a break during this time.
2pm to 3pmAt 2:30 I get the 2 year old up from her nap. I get her ready to go get the 9 year old from school.
3pm to 4pmAt 3 I leave to get the 9 year old from school. I usually get home around 3:30. When we get home it is snack time. Then we work on homework.
4pm to 5pmBetween 4-5 we are usually still doing homework and reading.
5pm to 6pmAround 5pm I start dinner and finish cleaning up the kitchen and wash the dishes. Then we set the table for dinner.
6pm to 7pmA little after 6 mom returns from work and I leave for the day.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume with references

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
two interviews, individual

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
was asked about experience with children, education, previous employment

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. My client showed me and told me almost everything I needed to know for the position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. Included family showing me the “normal” day to day routine.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take a CPR/First Aid class, promote yourself, build a website.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must love children.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have fun and enjoy the time with the kids.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I love working in this field.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to return to school for early education and become a teacher for young students.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think it’s a great choice for anyone who loves to work with children.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Nanny2 years26000Care of two children.
Prior Job 2Student Services1 year32000Assist student with enrollment in college programs.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.