Medical Dosimetrist (Female, Age 26) in Catonsville, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Medical Dosimetrist in Catonsville, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Dosimetrist
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCatonsville, MD
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large university hospital setting in a major city.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Create radiation treatment plans for oncology patients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
UMMS health insurance, vested 401k contributions,3 days personal leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Benefits have gone down recently

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love working with other people and do so on a daily basis. I love other personal interactions and thrive in an environment where I can learn from others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office in a hospital. I don’t like parking in the city but I like the size and layout of the office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Worked in a medical position and learned about it through other individuals

What was the application process?
All electronic

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with at least 4 or 5 different individuals

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, helped me learn through a 1 year school program.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, needed a bachelor’s degree in a science related field or radiation therapy certification.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was able to learn everything in my one year as a student.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get involved in radiation therapy.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Need to be very organized and able to handle social situations in order to handle working with physicians, residents, coworkers, and therapists. Computer savvy is necessary, and knowledge of physics.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, background in science, and radiation therapy is very helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to learn a lot right away because there is a very steep learning curve. Need to put in a lot of time and effort to make the most of the position and be able to learn from others.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t know where I will be in the future, but if I stay happy with my current employer and job I would be willing to stay here.

What are your current career goals?
Be involved in research and publications, volunteer in the field and outside of work, garner a chief position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not very well known but it is a great field to get involved with.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Student1 yrN/A
Prior Job 2Clinical Research Associate2 yrsN/A

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Duke UniveristyBS Biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
UMUCMS Biotechnology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.