Controller (Female, Age 42) in Oviedo, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Controller in Oviedo, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleController
Salary$160,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOviedo, FL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A medium sized semi conductor manufacturing company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Responsible for all areas of finance and accounting as they relate to my sites (Florida and Costa Rica)

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, HMO health insurance, Dental, Vision, 401K, stock purchase plan, stock options

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, work with others everyday. I love the laid back atmosphere at my office, I like working with different people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Paper application and resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with my direct boss and (at the time) dotted line bosses. They were all group interviews (2 or more people).

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember what was asked but I am sure they asked about previous work experiences (major accomplishments), organizational skills

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, even though there was no training they were as supportive as they could be

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no training, basically sink or swim. But the great thing about accounting is, it is the same everywhere basically. I just needed to get familiar with the software and policies at my place of employment

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely, the educational background was key

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
The best thing to do is network in the town you would like to work. Join professional organizations and be active in them

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good organizational skills are a must, as well as the ability to delegate. Conflict resolution comes in handy also.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, MBA and CPA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get the credentials needed to advance, a CPA is a must have in today’s world of accounting

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love the experience and education I am getting here. It is developing me for more responsibility at a larger company

What are your current career goals?
Become a CFO for a publicly traded company within the next two years

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Controller1 year125000Function as Controller for this company, in charge of all accounting
Prior Job 2Controller6 years100000In charge of all finance, accounting, HR, purchasing, and admin functions

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5FITFinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.4Rollins CollegeMBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.