Staff Attorney (Female, Age 28) in Owings Mills, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Staff Attorney in Owings Mills, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleStaff Attorney
Salary$92,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOwings Mills, MD
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a large law firm with several hundred attorneys.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work on a large-scale pharmaceutical litigation case where I review documents both on the computer and in hard-copy.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I receive all major benefits…medical, dental, and vision. I also contribute to a 401K.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My assignments are done by me alone, but I interact with several members of my team on a daily basis. This is one of the best parts of my job, as I really like most of the people I work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office, which I share with another staff attorney. For a while, I greatly disliked this set-up, since I wasn’t fond of my officemate, but since May, I have an officemate who I really like. It’s nice to have the company. Also, I am able to work from home when needed, which is great.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amWork from home. Review documents in binders for medical privacy and personal information, such as social security numbers, home addresses, and patient information (birth date, etc.). Redact these items using highlighters, and also redact them on our database.
9am to 10amDrive to work. Once I arrive, continue reviewing documents for medical privacy and personal information.
10am to 11amReview documents in binders for medical privacy and personal information, such as social security numbers, home addresses, and patient information (birth date, etc.). Redact these items using highlighters, and also redact them on our database.
11am to 12pmReview documents in binders for medical privacy and personal information, such as social security numbers, home addresses, and patient information (birth date, etc.). Redact these items using highlighters, and also redact them on our database.
12pm to 1pmTake a 15 minute lunch break.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A legal employment agency

What was the application process?
Submitted resume through the legal employment agency

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one interview with 2 different people… a woman from Human Resources, and one of the attorneys here. I was offered the job shortly after that.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t recall…sorry.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I feel prepared, but sometimes, I feel like I could be better informed. I don’t think that we Staff Attorneys know as much about the case as we should.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
A little bit of training, but it was subjective…basically, just explaining what to look for in each document, what to review, etc.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, since I am working in litigation, and I am a lawyer. However, I learned quite a bit in law school that I haven’t had the chance to use yet.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend for him/her to look at the large law firms in the area. Most or all of them have ongoing document review jobs, so the person could just send in their resume to apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Sadly, I don’t think many skills are required to do my job! Obviously, most firms prefer a legal background, but I don’t use my legal skills much. I guess attention to detail would be important, as would organization skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just to be thorough and accurate when reviewing the documents. While it might not seem important at the time, document review means a lot in any given case.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I think it is important to try things you never planned on trying, and I never saw myself working in a large firm environment like this one. I work at a law firm with a great reputation, and I think it will help me in the future.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to switch jobs in the next year or so to something where I feel I can make a difference.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I guess that’s about it. I’m relatively happy in my life, and I think career has a lot to say about that.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Law clerk1 month$22/hourI worked for a brief period of time as a law clerk at a law firm…writing memos and doing legal research.
Prior Job 2Title attorney2 months56000I worked as a Title Attorney at a title company where I had worked during my summers in college. I reviewed title documents and policies.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.85

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5University of MichiganBA, Political Science/English
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.3University of Maryland School of LawJD, Law

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.