Statistician (Female, Age 24) in Scotts Valley, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Statistician in Scotts Valley, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleStatistician
Salary$90,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationScotts Valley, NY
Years Experience2 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
University–research institution.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Design experiments, process data, design new models for use with data.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, retirement plan 401k, 2 weeks vac., 1 week sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Average

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to coordinate with research teams.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is an enjoyable, park-like atmosphere.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStill sleeping.
8am to 9amGet up, check e-mail.
9am to 10amGo to lab around 9:30ish.
10am to 11amReview current data files.
11am to 12pmRepeat model processes.
12pm to 1pmGo to lunch.
1pm to 2pmRepeat model processes.
2pm to 3pmCollaborate with team to design new models and implement them.
3pm to 4pmRun simulations, models.
4pm to 5pmFinish loose ends on completed data analytics.
5pm to 6pmGo home. (:
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, extensive interview process.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Three rounds of interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Specific questions about experience and knowledge of various sorts of stat. models.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I use specific courses I took in graduate school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Masters degree or higher with statistics education. Work experience actually dealing with data.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Actual work experience in research environment.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Most likely. Experience can substitute for some years of education, however.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be sure to work to systematize your work, think creatively, and be collaborative.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I am interested in research.

What are your current career goals?
Continue in research.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Researcher1 Year30000Research Assistant
Prior Job 2Research Coordinator1 Year30000Research Coordinator

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8UC BerkeleyMultiple
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8YaleEpidemiology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.