Owner/Operator (Female, Age 30) in stilwell, OK

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Owner/Operator in stilwell, OK. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner/Operator
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationstilwell, OK
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small real estate company that purchases, remodels, and sells properties as well as rental units.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do all of the buying of property, manage the work sites when we hire work outside of the company, contracts for rentals, all sales and paperwork ect.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
make own hours, vacation is not an issue, no health insurance yet

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDo not start until 8am
8am to 9amEmails, calls to lenders checking on paperwork for closings, we do not use a realtor so I pick up these reponsibilities, everything is for sale by owner.

Check with vendor on cabinet order, and replacement for window that was defective.

9am to 10amVisit job site 4 to check on readiness for electrician. Call to arrange for sheetrock one weeks from today. Call to have flooring removed from laundry room area and put into garage to allow for easier access for electrician. entire home is being rewired.
10am to 11amCall buyer for property 3. They have been tardy getting their tax information to the lender. Will have to go pick up paperwork and drive it there myself.
11am to 12pmpicked up paperwork, taking it to lender. Calls from vehicle, routine.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmMet with lender to deliver paperwork, checked up on other files getting ready for closing.
2pm to 3pmLooked at a new property with Realtor at 3pm not going to meet our needs, far to much work, bad foundation. were going to look at another property but recognized it from the description, have seen it before, not worth our time, owner is upside down and needs 15,000 more than it is worth.
3pm to 4pmnothing
4pm to 5pmnothing
5pm to 6pmshowing at 6pm at property 3. Current “buyer” is not yet under contract and we are waiting on his pre-approval that I dropped off today. Continuing to show property until contract is signed.
6pm to 7pmfinished showing property, check on property 2 on the way home, checking signage, still up. All landscaping complete, looks good. Home to check email.Touch Base with Partner to let them know status of property and info on how well the showing went. will be turning a complete packet in to the lender on new buyer for pre-approval for this or another property.
7pm to 8pmnothing
8pm to 9pmnothing
9pm to 10pmemail checks
10pm to 11pmnothing
11pm to 12amnothing

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Started our own company

What was the application process?
n/a

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
n/a

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
learn as you go!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
n/a

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely, I understand paperwork, accounting, sales, contracts, people skills, organizational skills, multi-tasking, reporting, ect.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They would have to work with an investor and a realtor. I would not go into this business without previous real estate experience, it is a very risky business otherwise. I would suggest becoming a real este agent and invest after a year or so in the business.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be self-motivated, good sales person, able to design property for resale, able to manage time, money and people very well. Computer skills are a must, must be very budget conscious at all times, time is money. MUST HAVE excellent communication skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really, college helped me, but life experience in the field is worth more.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Start out slow with one or two properties and see how it works for you before over investing yourself and your money. Test the market!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it is now! i dn’t think i would want to do anything else, we will see where it goes but i am hooked on real estate!

What are your current career goals?
To obtain as many proprties as possible as quickly as possible to place as many families as possible!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Love it!! Very Very blessed to have this opportunity!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1ae5 yr45000sales job, much travel, managed drivers, orders ect
Prior Job 2secretary225000ordinary secretarial stuff, paperwork, calls, appointments, dealings with students and teachers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5n/aass only did not complete ba
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.