Registered Nurse (RN) (Female, Age 24) in Montvale, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Registered Nurse (RN) in Montvale, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRegistered Nurse (RN)
Salary$72,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMontvale, NJ
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Hackensack University Medical Center – large NYC metro area hospital, employing +8,000 employees. I work as an ER nurse.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work as an ER nurse. I medicate & manage patients in varying degrees of acuity, triage patients, and perform varying nursing procedures

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
6 weeks paid vacation, paid sick-time, QualCare/delta dental health insurance, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many different people on a daily basis collaborating on medical care. I like this collaboration as it enhances patient care.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work. Take report from the night shift.
8am to 9amAssess my patients, manage new patients if applicable (insert IV & draw blood work, medicate patient, monitor patient, send patient for testing)
9am to 10ammorning break
10am to 11amdispense 10 AM meds (between 9AM – 11AM)
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmmanage patients, accept new patients depending on patient volume
1pm to 2pmdispense specific 2PM heart medicine if applicable, chart on patients
2pm to 3pmgive report to the evening shift, finish charting
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
career fair

What was the application process?
submitted resume to HR

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I interviewed with the hospital nurse recruiter and then with the department nurse manager in an individual setting.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what can i offer the workplace? what are my strengths/weaknesses? why do i want to work in the ER?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i had a 3 month orientation to the unit where I shadowed another nurse and she essentially taught me the policies/regulations of the facility & advanced nursing techniques

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
bachelor’s degree in nursing – 4 year college degree

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
very well. my collegiate program extensively prepared me for passing the state boards & learning essential nursing information

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, incredibly. it was an invaluable experience.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
As a student, I would suggest for them to get a job working as a student nurse intern, where they learn to chart, perform some nursing skills, and get a better sense of the work environment. This would give the student a better idea as to what area of nursing they would like to pursue.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should be compassionate, responsible, have good team work, and can perform well in a fast paced environment. They should also have good critical thinking skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, minimum of associate’s degree. Bachelor’s degree recommended

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Hard work, perseverance, thick skin

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i am gaining invaluable experience in the ER, which will assist me in my overall career goal of becoming a more experienced nurse

What are your current career goals?
I am pursuing a master’s degree at UMDNJ for family nurse practitioner. I am working towards becoming more autonomous in the medical profession.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1volunteer2 yearsN/Aperforming errands in the hospital setting (ex: transporting paperwork & blood product)
Prior Job 2nurse intern1 year14.5shadowing an RN who taught me how to chart, medicate & monitor a patient, triage patients, etc.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Quinnipiac UniversityBSN – nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.