Office Manager (Female, Age 32) in scarsdale, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Office Manager in scarsdale, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
Locationscarsdale, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The dental practice consists of 1 General Practitioner. There are a total of 6 employees (including the Dr., Asst., Hygienist, OM, and 2 front desk employees).

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the office manager and I oversee all the financial aspects of the office. Accounts receivable and payable, as well as keeping the practice stocked with all needed material. I also overlook all employee issues, including payroll.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical & dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
The same team work together for 4 days a week. Because we are a smaller office, we are a close-knit group. I really enjoy the closeness of our team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is an office in a different town from which I reside, The commute is a bit longer than I’d like, but enjoy my work so it evens out.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart the commute to work.
8am to 9amarrive at approx. 8:15. Turn on all computers and set up charts in all tx rooms. check phone msgs and make notes of any cancellations or emergencies which may affect schedule.
9am to 10amfirst patients of the day arrive and I have begun to call all emergencies and cancelled appointments. Assistant has home emergency and needs to leave early, so I must call temp agencies for a DA for the afternoon.
10am to 11amWaiting on the temp agency regarding DA. Start calling all unscheduled treatments from prior month, trying to get patients to come in for restorative work.
11am to 12pmAgency calls back without good news. They haven’t been able to find anyone to fill in for us. DA leaves at 12 and we have one more patient to see before lunch.
12pm to 1pmHelp assist the Dr. with this patient. Chairside assiting during a small resin composite. After pt leaves the Dr and I have an emergency meeting to see what we will do for the afternoon. We decide that I will assist for the rest of the day, and I will let the front desk take care of administrative dutie for today.
1pm to 2pmLUNCH! much needed break after a very hectic morning.
2pm to 3pmPatients arrive and I am seating pts and cleaning and setting up tx rooms. In between I have started to sterilize all instruments from the morning appts.
3pm to 4pmday continues to flow as stated above.
4pm to 5pmThis patient cancels, which gives me time to set up for tomorrow’s appts. All instruments have been sterilized and I proceed to put them away in their appropiate rooms.
5pm to 6pmThe day has ended and I have to close out the day. the front desk proceeds to back up all data for the day. Everything is shut down, and the last of the instruments are left sterilizing. I vacuum and wipe down all tx areas. Tidy up waiting room as well. We leave for the day.
6pm to 7pmCommuting back home.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Face to Face interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One individual interview with the Dr.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
We focused more on what I wanted from this position, and that also included compensation and benefits.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had prior experience so that helped ease into the position.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It did because I had dental schooling.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be responsible and detail oriented.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be able to deal with different personalities. You must know how to handle criticism and, at times, be able to deal with difficult people. Administrative skills is a great must.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
It helps

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be detail oriented and know when to admit that you do not know something.Even though you are in a managerial position, it is still best to ask for help rather than make a crucial mistake.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. With my dental backround, it is great to be within my field

What are your current career goals?
Continue to leatn more

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I really enjoy what I do

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1OM1 year45000
Prior Job 2OM2 years60000Manage the dental practice

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.6Univ of GDLDDS

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.