Design Engineer (Female, Age 29) in edison, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Design Engineer in edison, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDesign Engineer
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationedison, NJ
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
about 100 emloyees, 15% in office and the rest is in manual labor. We make customize transfomers for various companies: GE, Toshiba..

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide Sales department in quoting new design for customers. Review existing designs before releasing to manufacturing. Redesign if needed in term of out of stock for raw material or to make the unit more efficient.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
12 days holidays, 2 weeks paid vacations, 6 days sick leave, flexible time. Regular health insurance, 401k, dental…

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. I do not like interuption

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amin at 8am – look over any documents left on IN-bin. Check emails, voice mail…follow up as needed
9am to 10amstart reviewing work from others. fix as needed
10am to 11amstart new design. possible interuption from ppl from manufacture with questions and issues
11am to 12pmcontinue with designing
12pm to 1pmlunch – possible reply to emails
1pm to 2pmengineering meeting: figured out projects timeline and importance..prioritizing as needed – dividing works among all engineers
2pm to 3pmreview works
3pm to 4pmcontinue design or review spec
4pm to 5pmcustomer standard review
5pm to 6pmcatch up with emails, floor issues..
6pm to 7pmcontinues..
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
monster trak

What was the application process?
interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
i only need one interview. The boss was very impressive so he made the decision next day. I got the offer the week after

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
future plan, job experience, how do i deal with people in certain situation, how do i feel working with mostly males co workers.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, the training was short and I was left by myself after the first week because the one who trained me went on vacation.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes: lots of hands on experience with high voltages equipments which i did not learn in school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, electrical and computer engineering courses give me lots of knowledges for my jobs

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get lots of practice at CAD

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
lots of computers skills, ability to communicate with customers, able to ask direct questions, multitasking.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
BS. in electrical engineering

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work place is not a glamorous place. It’s dirty and messy so anyone wants a nice office shouldn’t try it

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I plan to get my PE license after my MBA

What are your current career goals?
finishing my MBA degree

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it’s hard to compete with all the males. Not a lot female in this field.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1webmaster2 yrs35000maintain website, contact various students groups, organized events
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8rutgersECE
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2rutgersMBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.