Immunology Lab Scientist 

(Female, Age 23) from Dallas, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Immunology Lab Scientist in Dallas, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Immunology Lab Scientist
Salary $55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location Dallas, TX
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A university medical research setting that has 500+ researchers, with various research subjects. My lab has 10 scientist in it.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Research about corneal transplants and immune privilege of the cornea. Running PCRs, Blotts, microsurgeries, Purifications, Flow Cytometry.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, health and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am arrive at work and decontaminate my work bench, read over my protocols, and set up the reagents and equipment
10am to 11am start up the first experiment, which varies daily.
11am to 12pm Continue with my experiment, and its protocols
12pm to 1pm break for lunch.
1pm to 2pm Attend seminars in my field to learn the latest and greatest
2pm to 3pm Begin second experiment.
3pm to 4pm Continue second experiment, collect first experiment data.
4pm to 5pm Process first experiment, collect second experiment data
5pm to 6pm Process and Log the data in a journal.
6pm to 7pm Interpret the data sets. Make notes and plan for next day experiments
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.