Structural Designer (Female, Age 32) in Shawnee, KS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Structural Designer in Shawnee, KS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Structural Designer
Salary $55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Shawnee, KS
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large company with many districts based originally out of Omaha, Nebraska. Company has many different offices nationwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Work primarialy with Engineers and project managers to design structures in the power industry.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks paid vacation, 2 weeks paid sick leave, 401K (company pays 100% match of your contribution up to 6%) Excellent healthcare benefits-including dental, and vision and flexible spending accounts are available.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Job entails great amounts of team work. I enjoy this greatly.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Log onto computer, work with model of steel.
9am to 10am spoke with mechanical designer regarding locations of steel, continued working with model
10am to 11am Began work on drawings.
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm continued work on drawings.
1pm to 2pm Meeting, model walk through with project management and engineers to see if model is correct and to make sure no other members of steel are needed and that every piece was accounted for.
2pm to 3pm Back to work on drawings.
3pm to 4pm Model correction and drawings.
4pm to 5pm Drawings, and off at 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Resume, phone interview, electronic application, and second interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, Several classes, mentoring program with company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Basic knowledge of AutoCad or Microstation is a big plus. Must have at least an Associates Degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
High social skills, ability to work well with others, must be tech savvy.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be open to learning new things and listen to the people around you as far as how to do the position.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, they want me to succeed and do what makes me happy.

What are your current career goals?
To reach a certain income level, and status at this company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.