(Male, Age 41) from Grayslake, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Accountant in Grayslake, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 48
Company Size (not answered)
Location Grayslake, IL
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
500 members plus members. Company provides financial services to the public.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
provides financial services to customers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
bonus, 401K, share option, medical/dental, paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with others and enjoy it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
large office. I dislike the location because of the commute.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
two interviews with my current supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
how I could help the Company. What is my long term goals.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, continually receive training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, college then internship

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, however the job experience is more crucial

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
complete college degree in accounting

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social and organization skills as you will deal directly with customers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelor or masters degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient, Rome was not built in 1 day. Experience is key.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I hope to be a Manager in 2 years then move on to teach at a College or university.

What are your current career goals?
Supervisor then college instructor

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
The hours are long at times thus it can be a difficult field for quality family life. We have 6 children and often I do not get home until 9 p.m.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Accountant 3 years 48000 provide financial services to business’
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.65 Robert Morris Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.