Auditor (Female, Age 35) in Tallahassee, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Auditor in Tallahassee, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAuditor
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTallahassee, FL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Legislative branch of the Florida Government. The name of my agency is the Auditor General. There are approx. 400 employees scattered throughout the state. We are responsible for auditing all of the state agencies for both federal and state funds.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for auditing the Department of Education. We audit the FDOE for both operational and federal audits.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
free healthcare, dental, 20 hours paid leave a month, 1 personal holiday per year, free retirement contributions.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated at this point in my career

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work directly with the employees from the Department of Education. These employees are on all levels from support staff to the Commissioner of Education. I enjoy working with other people, it keeps the job interesting and I learn from other employees. I also work with others in my office which I enjoy immensely.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a cubicle in an office with no windows. I would love the opportunity to work from home even one day a week. I would also love to have a window at work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at work, greet coworkers, unpack my bag, get laptop out of drawer of desk and log on. Check email. Talk to coworker about anything new that is going on if he has arrived before me. Check phone messages if I have any.
9am to 10amRead newspaper online or newsclips that are sent to us from Building secretary. Started work on our audit programs. Helped out a new co worker with her work.
10am to 11amDiscussed plans with my boss for planning purposes (where we are in the audit). Made some copies for my manager with deadlines and distributed them to my coworkers. Explained to them all how to find this information on their outlook calender also. Check email
11am to 12pmContinued to work on my audit programs. Check email.
12pm to 1pmLunch time
1pm to 2pmPrinted out reference sections for my audit units and began to label and put these in binders. Check emails
2pm to 3pmSat with new co worker and discussed some testing and programs she would be working on.
3pm to 4pmFinished up my audit programs and handed them into audit supervisor.
4pm to 5pmLeft for the day
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
application, resume, unofficial transcripts

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews with Audit manager and Audit supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
About my background, what I disliked, liked about my then current position, what my assets were.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No we really had to learn on our own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, in a way, it taught me how to learn (good study skills etc)

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Obtain a masters degree and study for their cpa exam.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Excellent social and organizational skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To just read and ask others when you need help.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is giving me the experience I need to advice.

What are your current career goals?
To pass the cpa exam and get promoted

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Auditor2 Years46600Audits state agencies.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Fitchburg State CollegeBS- Accouting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.3FSUMBA- Accounting

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.