Salesman/Manager (Female, Age 24) in austell, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Salesman/Manager in austell, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSalesman/Manager
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationaustell, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Clearwire is one of the newest internet service provider. We recently started adding phone service also in our program. My main store is employeed with over 15 employees, but we are a national company that is located in many states.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties is to open the store, rarely do I work nights and close. I deal with customers, answer questions, make sales, as well as assist the other employees and make sure the store functions properly

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, blue cross blue shield health insurance, sick leave, 2 weeks vacation, employee discount

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does. Its something I love, i’m very much a people person, and it helps the time go by faster

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I like my store location, we play music, its a laid back atmoshpheere

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amget to work make sure everything is cleaned and store is ready to work
9am to 10amThe first part of the day is the busiest part. I have to check the inventory and make sure we have enough product to go out, which is done by estimating and looking at previous sales. I have to check the clock hours and make sure time cards are correct. Make sure the employees have no questions. And everyone is ready to work. As well as do the weekly schedule.
10am to 11amdeal with customers

maintain the phone line

11am to 12pm15 minute break
12pm to 1pmmeeting with the employees about their sales
1pm to 2pmlunch time
2pm to 3pmassign employees break
3pm to 4pmdeal with customers and phones
4pm to 5pmFill in the night manager of any issues during the day that she/he will have to take care of
5pm to 6pmleave work
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a friend

What was the application process?
paper application, job interview and brought a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, individual interview with another manager. Involved questions about my skills, training, and education

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
not 100% sure

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, training was great.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I’ve always had some type of sales in all my positions. I have my business degree and getting ready for grad school next year

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, i was already in school before i had the job and came in knowing alot about business and sales

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
absolutly. I did an internship part time with another company while working for this one. combining the two only made me a better employee

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Come down to my store and fill out an application. Sometimes we advertise on craigslist or newspapers

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, becuase youre dealing with people all the time

organization skills, sometimes we do get busy and you deal with multiple people and the phone ringing

selling skills, great bonuses if youre awesome at selling

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Like people, smile and be cheerful always

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I want to go to grad school and own my own business

What are your current career goals?
I;d like to open a restuarant

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Thats it. thanks

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1assistant6 months0personal assistant to a real estate agent
Prior Job 2cashier1 year15000selling clothes

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Georgia StateBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.