Sales Coordinator (Female, Age 36) in Sherman Oaks, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Sales Coordinator in Sherman Oaks, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Coordinator
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSherman Oaks, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Produces bi-yearly tradeshow for the footwear industry. Approx. 50 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide informatin to clients questions regarding exhibit space, sponsorships.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Vision, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others daily, which I like.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like my work environment because it is comfortable, good distance from home, great office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amAnswered incoming emails. Returned all phone calls from yesterday.
9am to 10amHad short meeting with Account Executive in my department. She has requested I create reports of customers who have not signed up for our next show, so we can do an email blast.
10am to 11amFinished with pulling reports. Sent her the lists. She needs to write the letter and create attachments to send out. Answered more email questions and returned more phone calls.
11am to 12pmEntered information into Sales Logix for new contracts that have come in within the past couple of days.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmAnswered phone calls and emails.
2pm to 3pmAnswered phone calls and emails.
3pm to 4pmHad short meeting with new sales coordinator. Went over instructions on how to answer specific questions from customers.
4pm to 5pmAnswered emails and phone calls.
5pm to 6pmWent home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Employment agency

What was the application process?
Submitted resume through agency

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the CFO for this position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Previous job experience, what I like/disliked about my jobs, what I hoped to accomplish with this job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have the type of job where training is obtained from daily conversations with customers and from asking questions, as each issue is answered differently.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I started as a temp through an agency. I would suggest signing up with an agency.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Detail oriented, organized, good interpersonal and communication skills, computer savvy.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Computer training, basic business knowledge

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen and learn to those who have lots of experience

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, in sales.

What are your current career goals?
Sales executives, probably in the apparrel industry.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Coordinator6 months$44kAssist sales reps with pricing, product knowledge.
Prior Job 2Executive Assistant5 years$38kAssist CEO of entertainment company with daily administrative functions.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.