Assistant Store Manager 

(Female, Age 26) from Vallejo, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Assistant Store Manager in Vallejo, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Store Manager
Salary $46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Vallejo, CA
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Big box chain office supply store

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
oversee store run day to day function recruit hire talent open/cose store train new associate mentor

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3weeks vac, 1 weel sick leave, healthe and dental benefits 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. rude customers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Store, I dislike dealing with non sense rude customers

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sleep
8am to 9am Sleep
9am to 10am Get up and get ready for work
10am to 11am Drive to work
11am to 12pm Still driving
12pm to 1pm Get to work about 1 pm
1pm to 2pm Walk the Store, clock in, meet with other manager, go over what has happend or is happening
2pm to 3pm go to sales floor
3pm to 4pm sales floor
4pm to 5pm lunch before other manager goes home
5pm to 6pm finish any projects, cover any/all lunches
6pm to 7pm begin closing processes
7pm to 8pm clean store up, recovery, paperwork
8pm to 9pm finish up recovery
9pm to 10pm close store, paperwork, count money close store
10pm to 11pm Drive home
11pm to 12am Sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
worked my way up from cashier 8 years ago

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. I went through one group interview with 6 people and then 2 interviews with 2 people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I do not recall

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I believe they did prepare me well

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
.Yes, I was sent to another store for 1 month for an on the job training/

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start from the bottom and work your way up

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People skills because customers are the heart and soul of retail

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
great on the job training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take it with a grain of salt

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I hope to go into the healthcare field soon.

What are your current career goals?
To go to school and get into healthcare

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 store support manager 6 months 32000 receive shipments cash office process damaged items oversee store open store
Prior Job 2 copy center manager 18 months 32000 oversee copy department open/close store

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.85

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.