Staff Accountant (Female, Age 29) in La Jolla, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Staff Accountant in La Jolla, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleStaff Accountant
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLa Jolla, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small IT company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
preparation, review and analysis of financial statements, conduct account reconciliation and budget, verify and audit records and documents.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. no, it interferes my work flow

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, it is small and no window

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcome in
8am to 9amwork on paper and number
9am to 10amwork on paper and number
10am to 11amwork on paper and number
11am to 12pmwork on paper and number
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmwork on paper and number
2pm to 3pmwork on paper and number
3pm to 4pmwork on paper and number
4pm to 5pmwork on paper and number
5pm to 6pmoff work
6pm to 7pmoff work
7pm to 8pmoff work
8pm to 9pmoff work
9pm to 10pmoff work
10pm to 11pmoff work
11pm to 12amoff work

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume by email

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes,-telephone interview with 1 person-onsite interview with 4 people

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
introduce yourself,your attitude, skills

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, the previous employee left and said nothing about how I can do it

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my major is accounting

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
be prepared to be bore.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
proficient in accounting software, familiar with GAAP, good at maths, good at negotiation

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
at least bachelor’s degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
you have to comprehend the details about accounting. You need patience

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, would like to have my own CPA firm

What are your current career goals?
would like to have my own CPA firm

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Prior Job 1student assistant1 year10account payable
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9UCSDAccounting, BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9SDSUAccounting, MA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.