Lawyer (Female, Age 33) in Memphis, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Lawyer in Memphis, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLawyer
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMemphis, TN
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
This is a small law firm with 5 attorneys and some administrative staff. We all chip in to answer phones, and it’s really a team environment. The firm handles primarily creditor work and focuses on lawsuits and bankruptcy cases.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Prepare bankruptcy paperwork and file it with the Court. Prepare Lawsuits and file them with the Court. Speak with clients and/or debtors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Vacation – 2 weeks, Sick 1-week, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis and I thoroughly enjoy working in a team environment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWas still asleep.
8am to 9amWoke up. Showered. Got Dressed. Ate breakfast and drove to work.
9am to 10amChecked e-mails and voice mails. Surfed the internet for a few minutes. Returned some calls.
10am to 11amHad a meeting with a client regarding their bankruptcy case.
11am to 12pmDictated some projects for my assistant to type up for me. Went through the mail we received for the day.
12pm to 1pmWent to lunch with a co-worker.
1pm to 2pmCourt appearance for a lawsuit we’re working on.
2pm to 3pmReturned to the office. Reviewed e-mails and voice mails. Returned Calls.
3pm to 4pmReviewed work done by assistant. Signed off on it. Did some more dictation.
4pm to 5pmWrapped up some loose ends and left work.
5pm to 6pmDrove home.
6pm to 7pmAte Dinner and watched TV
7pm to 8pmWatched TV and surfed the net.
8pm to 9pmWatched TV and surfed the net.
9pm to 10pmWent to Bed.
10pm to 11pmAsleep.
11pm to 12amAsleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
inernet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, then an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. 3 person panel interview. I took about 1 hour.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember. We basically went over my work history and future goals.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat. They are acting in a supervisory capacity, but not in an overbearing way.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I went to law school.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat. Law School teaches you the basics, but life fills in the gaps.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/s

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college, then law school, then apply for the job. Pretty simple.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would need good social skills and a very analytical mind. Organizational skills are recommended but not required.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just be responsible.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It’s what I always wanted to do.

What are your current career goals?
To make a lot of money and retire young.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Lawyer2 years40000Bankruptcy, Lawsuits (creditor and some debtor work)
Prior Job 2Supervisor5 years38000Supervise carpentry crew.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8UCRBachelor of Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4Cal SouthernJuris Doctor

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.