Financial Analyst (Female, Age 28) in Middleton, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Financial Analyst in Middleton, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Analyst
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMiddleton, WI
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a financial investment firm with 200 employees locally, 1000 nationally.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in financial investment working with consumer accounts.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
matching 401k up to 6%, health care, 3 wks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like that many of the people I work with are my age. I like that the customers I work with come to me for help, so they work with me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
na

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amPrepare for my meetings for the day. Look through their files. Look at the financial news.
8am to 9amMeetings
9am to 10amMeetings
10am to 11amPaperwork and submit account changes
11am to 12pmLunch, paperwork
12pm to 1pmmeetings
1pm to 2pmmeetings
2pm to 3pmMisc
3pm to 4pmMIsc
4pm to 5pmMeetings
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had two interviews with different groups of people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
my experience, what can I offer, why I wanted the job

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I learn very fast and if new things came up I knew who to go to.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I shadowed fellow employees for 2 weeks to learn my new job position. I got welcome to the company training. When new things came up I received help from co-workers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the fundementals I learned in college helped me with many aspects on the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to shadow someone with the job that they would like.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Interest in the money world, able to advise others with high risk dollar amounts,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelor degree in finance

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If you love numbers and aren’t afraid of managing hugh amounts of money, it’s a lucrative and fun job. It can be monotomous at times, but there are rewards.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to continue but become a supervisor in the near future

What are your current career goals?
To work my way up the ladder into supervision.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Financial Specialist 34 years30000Financial reporting
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7UWMFinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.