Youth Supervisor (Female, Age 23) in Virginia beach, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Youth Supervisor in Virginia beach, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleYouth Supervisor
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationVirginia beach, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Boarding school type environment for troubled youth and children. We house about 20 kids.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I give out medication, I supervise the youth and their activities.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I do enjoy working with others, we have a team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I guess you would say in the field. I enjoy it, it’s fun and different everyday. Time flies.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 9

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amGot to work and checked in. Brief pre-meeting that is standard before every workday. Went over any issues the kids have been having. Looked through the incident report book. Got my walkie talkie and keys.
9am to 10amTook the girls to breakfast. Gave them meds if applicable. Ate breakfast with them.
10am to 11amReturned to dorm. Free time. Let the girls read, color, etc.
11am to 12pmChores. Cleaned the dorm and the art room. Also washed the windows around the building.
12pm to 1pmFootball was on, the girls and boys are able to watch football every sunday.
1pm to 2pmPhysical activity. Took the girls out to play tennis.
2pm to 3pmMore physical activity. Doing circuit work outs and jogging.
3pm to 4pmBack to dorm, let girls shower.
4pm to 5pmNew worker arrived, I went back to the meeting room. Recording any incidents, turned in keys and walkie then left.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
It’s near my house, they had a sign.

What was the application process?
paper application and I submitted a resume and then underwent an interview with the owner and the head supervisor.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Just 1, the owner an the head supervisor. They asked me questions about my history with children.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
“What would you do if a child attacked you?” “Do you think you can determine if someone is lying.” “If a child self mutilates, what would you do?”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. I trained with another worker before getting left alone and all of my questions were answered.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. We did crisis intervention training. Basically we learned how to diffuse bad situations. Also we took a CPR/First aid course that was paid for by the company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get experience by volunteering with non profit organizations. For instance the YMCA.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Understanding, easy at building rapport, firm when necessary, honest.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really, a high school diploma or GED should suffice.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t let yourself be manipulated and watch everything very closely. Be nice, but don’t let the kids get away with anything that they shouldn’t be doing. Don’t let them think they can walk all over you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It’s something I enjoy thoroughly. It pays decent and I feel very happy about my work, I never dread going to work.

What are your current career goals?
To continue working with troubled youth, maybe as a social worker one day.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It can be extremely rewarding at times, but also very damaging. Some of the things the children go through is heart wrenching.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Account Rep6 months30000Error processing on phone orders
Prior Job 2paralegal1 year40000Skip tracing

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.