Project Manager (Male, Age 27) in Albuquerque, NM

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Project Manager in Albuquerque, NM. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Manager
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAlbuquerque, NM
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Custom home building firm. Small family owned business.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Oversee job sites. I do punch work to finish construction as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do enjoy interacting with the subcontractors, but it can be difficult when they don’t show up.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at jobsite and unlock doors for sub-contractors.
8am to 9amCheck in with owner and go over days appointments and crews.
9am to 10amMake phone calls ensuring everyone has shown up and is on time.
10am to 11amCheck on progress and take a short break.
11am to 12pmRun any errands, pick up paperwork from main office and check in with owner again to detail days progress.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH
1pm to 2pmGo over plans for new construction with architech. Redline any changes and submit them downtown to building department.
2pm to 3pmGo back to jobsite and oversee subcontractors answering any questions they may have.
3pm to 4pmStay on job and wait for building inspector to okay progress to continue job.
4pm to 5pmLock up all houses and call owner again. Go home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through a friend.

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed once and got the job immediately based on past experience.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
About previous job responsibilities.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It is all on the job experience and that is how I feel it is best learned.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I did apprentice work with a plumbing company and also worked for Pulte Homes.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It helped me with paperwork and algebra with the building plans.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Tremendously so. I wasn’t getting paid and there was less pressure.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I’d like to one day have my own construction firm.

What are your current career goals?
Start my own business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is definately challenging and you have to be reliable and honest.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Project Manager2 years40000Oversee work crews and job sites.
Prior Job 2apprentice/journeyman2 years20000Install all electrical elements, lighting, wiring in new homes and commercial buildings.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5University of NMNA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.