Marketing Assistant (Female, Age 33) in Lake Elsinore, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Marketing Assistant in Lake Elsinore, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarketing Assistant
Salary$38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLake Elsinore, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a finalcial institution and we have approximately 650 employees company wide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I plan and executite all events, coordinate marketing mailings, design brochures and flyers and keep the marketing budget for the department.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
ESOP, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i have to interface with department managers on a daily basis. I enjoy working and interacting with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the corporate office in a highrise. I actually like the building i work in. I wish we had offices though.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAnswer voice mail and email and plan my calendar for the day.
8am to 9amget my notes ready for the marketing meeting and see if there is any large print jobs that need to be taken care of. This is also the time i leave messages to check in with everybody to see where they are at with my projects.
9am to 10amWeekly marketing meeting with manager and co-worker.
10am to 11amWork on my check list of items to be done. Such as mailings, flyers or budgeting.
11am to 12pmWork on my check list of items to be done. Such as mailings, flyers or budgeting.
12pm to 1pmLucnh
1pm to 2pmWork on my check list of items to be done. Such as mailings, flyers or budgeting.
2pm to 3pmWork on my check list of items to be done. Such as mailings, flyers or budgeting.
3pm to 4pmStart planning for the next day of what and what needs to be accomplished. I also move the items from my calendar that I didn’t get to that needs to be addressed the next day.
4pm to 5pmI leave at 4:30 pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet – monster.com

What was the application process?
yes

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had a phone interview an inperson interview with HR and the department and a second inperson interview where i met with my other co-worker.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what duties have i had in the past that match the job i was applying for. What are my strengths and weaknesses. What projects have i managed in the past.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, i just had to gain experience from past employment. Plus the college degree in the field helped.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my college had us do a lot of projects that would require thinking and planning and that showed the steps to get things done. This is very useful for me in planning events and projects. My school showed us how to work with a timeline and a budget.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes and no. I wasn’t sure what i wanted to do when i had my internship, so it wasn’t exactly where i wanted to be, but the experience of working and going to meetings in a corporate setting showed me new insight to corporations.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try and get informational interviews with managers in the fields they want to work in and see exactly what is expected of the position they want. It is also good to volunteer to get additional experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would need to be personable and have to be VERY organized and pay great attention to detail. Planning events requires you to wear many hats and have to perform many duties.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get as many internships as possible and volunteer as much as possible. Also, it is great to join networking groups.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I wanted to get a job where i could learn more of the mechanics of marketing in addition to the event planning. I wanted a more rounded career.

What are your current career goals?
I want to move onto management within the next few years. I want to gain experience in all aspects of maketing and maybe catering so i can open my own business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Event planning is a a lot of fun, but it is also a lot of hard work. With any career you need to be happy with what you do, because if you end up working a lot of hours in something you hate you will be miserable.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Senior Executive Assistant2.5 years35000Support Regional Vice President, Marketing and Sales Director in all administrative duites. Plan all events and meeting for the region.
Prior Job 2Marketing Coordinator2 years37500Coordinate all mailings and sales support for the company along with all company events.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.83

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Cal State FullertonCommunications/BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.