Teacher (Female, Age 29) in Wentzville, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Teacher in Wentzville, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Wentzville, MO
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a child care center. Employeed is about 20 people. We care for about 75 children.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach small children everyday activities. Color, Count, ABC, tie shoes, serve lunch and breakfast.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
free childcare… some medical

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes and I love to work with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
A split room.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am The kids start arriving at the center. We watch PBS until most of the children arrive and get settled. Around 7:45 breakfast is served. I serve the children and clean up after breakfast.
8am to 9am Today we are making necklaces so I tell the children to gather around the circle table and sit patiently until everyone is seated. Then I give them a string and a bowl of beads so they can choose what they want the necklace to look like. We get the necklaces started.
9am to 10am Until 9:30 we work on the necklaces. Then we cleaned up for snack time. The children are being good today!!
10am to 11am Snack time is served and cleaned up after. The kids now are doing a worksheet on the letter “D”. I help each one of them trace the letter “D”.
11am to 12pm Group play is from 11:15 – noon. We are all playing duck duck goose in this time. Lunch is going to be served at 12:00 then it is NAP time.
12pm to 1pm Get out cots and get the children laid down and settled in for a rest.
1pm to 2pm LUNCH
2pm to 3pm I wake the children that are still sleeping at 2:00. Everyone puts the cot that they slept on in a stack where they belong. Everyone has open play at this time. Everything is fair game!!
3pm to 4pm We do another worksheet and then resume making our necklaces. I show the children how to string the beads and how to tie the end when complete.
4pm to 5pm Childrens parents start to arrive. I have to gather the childrens items from the day and fill out the daily reports that are sent home with the children daily. When the parents arrive I speak to them about the day and see them out the door.
5pm to 6pm going home!!
6pm to 7pm home
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend was working at the center and asked if I would like a job there also.

What was the application process?
I filled out a very simple App. but also turned in all record/drug checks and got a TB shot.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. She asked about my previous childcare experience. Asked what and where I wanted to work and then told me I was HIRED!!

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
about previous experience I had, age, what age group of children I enjoyed the most. When I could start and what hours I could work.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
YES. she showed me everything that I needed to know and I was on my own in a flash

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I had a teacher show me how they run the day at the center.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I took Child Development throughout all of highschool. I also have a son of my own.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make sure that they like children. They would also have to get a record check and a drug check.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
friendly, patient, caring, and understanding

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
i feel Child Development classes should be taken and persons should be CPR certified

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Please be polite to the children and SMILE!!!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I actually have always wanted to work with children and that is what I am doing now.

What are your current career goals?
To become a social worker for the abused and harmed children.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I just wish that others felt the same way about children as I do. Everyone needs to know they are our tomorrow!!! Thank you

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Maid 7 months 11 I went into peoples homes and cleaned them.
Prior Job 2 Attendent 3 years 8.5 I took care of handicap people for 8 hours. All of the everyday things we do I helped them do.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.