Sales Support Admin (Female, Age 25) in Chicago, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Sales Support Admin in Chicago, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Support Admin
Salary $36,590
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chicago, NY
Years Experience 2 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Jensen Home Electronic Licensee and Largest Licence holder for Hello Kitty.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Proposals, sales reports, pricing, availability of products, tracking

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 personal day, 4 sick days, BCBSIL HMO

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Undercompensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I am comfortable working with others, it helps me get my job done, and pass the time more enjoyably.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, I like it, but I don’t necessarily like the way the office is set up.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sleep
8am to 9am Wake up, shower, then drive to work.
9am to 10am Get to work, check my emails, respond to any emails that I may have. Do morning sales reports
10am to 11am Continue with morning sales reports.
11am to 12pm Work on proposals.
12pm to 1pm Work on Proposals.
1pm to 2pm Lunch.
2pm to 3pm Adjust price lists for our different brands.
3pm to 4pm Adjust price list for our different brands.
4pm to 5pm Send out new adjusted pricing to sales force.
5pm to 6pm Drive home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend worked here

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, interviewed with 3 people, individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they explained what the job would entail.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, took a lot of computer courses.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Know basic computer skills, good phone skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Basic computer skills, Microsoft office experience, fast typer, I type 75 wpm

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Realx, don’t get so uptight.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I guess. My current employment is a job. Who knows if I’ll stay. That all depends on whats going on in my life outside of work.

What are your current career goals?
Make more money, really thats about it. I’m not career oriented, more family oriented

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Project Coordinator 1.5 years 29120 Order material, schedule labor, bill clients, make collection calls
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Sawyer College Associates in Applied Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.