Accounting Clerk Senior 

(Female, Age 36) from Lincoln Park, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Accounting Clerk Senior in Lincoln Park, MI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accounting Clerk Senior
Salary $36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Lincoln Park, MI
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Big Ten University.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Reconciling accounts. Creating monthly and daily accounts receiveable reports. Proccess Accounts Payable documents for my area. Enter Payroll information for my department.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health ins, dental ins, life ins, rx, vision, retirement, legal benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well due to the benefits

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work closely with those in my department as well as those in the Central Financial Operations deparmtent. I do like this. It gives me an opportunity to network and learn new skills.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. Like: casual environment. Dislike: off the main campus

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive to work at 7:30am. Begin to run daily accounts receiveable reports.
8am to 9am Compile daily accounts receiveable spreadsheet and email it to the appropriate individuals. Begin to work on reconciling cash transactions from various areas of the dental school to verify that the money reported as collected matches to what was posted in the billing system. The excel file I work in is called the deposit database.
9am to 10am Continue reconciling deposit database.
10am to 11am Weekly meeting with my manager. Go over weekly goals. Update each other on existing projects. Discuss new projects. Problem solve for any new problems. Acquire signature(s) for any paperwork that I need to forward to the main finance office.
11am to 12pm Work on deposit database. Lunch from 11:30-noon.
12pm to 1pm Process accounts payable vouchers on main university payables system. Check to see if previous invoices have been paid.
1pm to 2pm Finish working on monthly Accoutns Receivable Reconciliation. This compares the data compiled on the deposit database with the incoming cash reported by the central financial operations department based on money transfers for bank deposits, credit card deposits and funds transferred by other university departments. Also includes returned checks, adjustments and writeoffs.
2pm to 3pm Continue working on monthly A/R Reconciliation.
3pm to 4pm File and finish minor duties. Compiled a bank deposit. Returned phone calls. Called bank regarding deposit discrepancies found while working monthly A/R report.
4pm to 5pm Leave work at 4pm
5pm to 6pm na
6pm to 7pm na
7pm to 8pm na
8pm to 9pm na
9pm to 10pm na
10pm to 11pm na
11pm to 12am na

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Long employment application. Bid form for job. Resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Three interviews. One was a group interview. Two were individuals with two different managers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Describe a situation where I handled conflict well. What area do I need to improve myself in. Where do I see myself 5 years down the road. Why am I interested in the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I was overly prepared for the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Various company training sessions to obtain clearance for specific computer programs.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had many math classes and computer classes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Obatain a college degree in accounting to assist in promotions and career advancement.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience. Organizational skills. Excel skills. People skills. Ability to work under tight deadlines. Ability to multitask.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as possible. Network as often as possible. Learn how to make small talk.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is part of my new career plan. I’d like to advance in the accounting field but lack the correct type of degree. I have to network and make a name for myself to bypass this.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to be a grant writer or grant administrator.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s nowhere close to where I imagined I’d be. However I enjoy my job and cannot imagine working in any other field.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Collections Clerk 2 years 28000 Collect accounts receivable owed for services provided by temporary health care specialists.
Prior Job 2 collection interviewer 4 years 28000 Collect on 5000 dental accounts.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 Madonna University BS Hospice education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
2.2 University of Phoenix Major:MBA no degree

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.