Office Assistant (Female, Age 26) in stratford, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Office Assistant in stratford, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Assistant
Salary$32,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationstratford, CT
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
ot is a rather large company different locations in the us they deal with carpets hardwoods and other types of flooring the location i am at is rather small but busy 12 workers

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
answer customers complaints make appoints computor data faxes and mail

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with sales people and contractors i dont have any problems with them we get along fine

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office location too small nice office but crowded

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amstart my day at 8.00 am check answering machine for any calls, and take the messages
8am to 9amaround nine am i try to reach the customers and talk with them about there exsiting problems with merchandise
9am to 10amcontinue the same lots of customer calls to make hard to reach some of the people
10am to 11am1000 i take my fiveteen minute break then come back to office and start inputing data into computor and processing new orders very time consuming
11am to 12pmcontinue computor input to 1200 pm than i break for a half hour lunch
12pm to 1pmmore orders come in and i process them and that is basically what i do all day calls and computor input
1pm to 2pmprocess orders computor input take faxes from fax machine distribute them to the correct department
2pm to 3pmi do the mail i seperate it and get it to the right people who work here
3pm to 4pmfinish up with all the orders for the day and finish input into the computor
4pm to 5pmmore or less the same finish up till five when i go home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper it was in

What was the application process?
a little nerve racking i needed to submit my resume in person along with filling out a paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes i interviewed with the head person alone

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what skills i have what can i bring to the company how fast am i on the computor can i multi task

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat i did have to learn some on my own

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes inputing into the computor i was taught how to do it

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
i guess somewhat some of the things on my job i have done in college

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
have a patient personatlity because you will need it for the customers

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good computor skils good commucation skills and overall good office skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes computor skills

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
defiently have great skills fast on the computor good oral skills good knowledge of the products

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no it is not part of my career plan but i am working full time and go to school at night

What are your current career goals?
to become a law enforcement officer FBI i am really looking forward to that

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i am working on a crimanil justice degree and that is going to be my career this job i am doing is help paying for my education i do not want to stay in customer service

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1campground counselor1 year8.00 a houroversee children at playground involve them with activities and sports and craftd
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
university of new havencrimanial justice
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.