E-Mail & Affiliate Marketing Coordinator & Analyst (Female, Age 28) in Rhinelander, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a E-Mail & Affiliate Marketing Coordinator & Analyst in Rhinelander, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleE-Mail & Affiliate Marketing Coordinator & Analyst
Salary$31,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRhinelander, WI
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
500+ employess We are an online/catalog retail company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of setting up the newsletter schedule for 11 different divisions. I setup and send the newsletters. I am also incharge of our affiliate program

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health care, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes I love working with other, I’d go crazy just being alone all day

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at work. Feed my fish. Check work account emails, drink coffee, look at tasks for the day. Send any campaigns that go out. Check my to do list and arrange the day. Check on my affiliate account to make sure there are no questions for the previous day.
9am to 10amFollow up with previous day questions. Start proofing emails that are to go out in 2 days. Look at previous day emails that went out (if any) to make sure there was nothing wrong with it. Check email sales to see how close we are to the projections.
10am to 11amUsually a meeting in use or on the phone where I basically take notes about specific emails that are needed and dates they should go out (press releases). Otherwise I approve affiliates and meet with our rep once a week to see how we are doing
11am to 12pmsetup emails that go out, work on email schedule if needed with merchandising.
12pm to 1pmeat lunch
1pm to 2pmcontinue the proofing process, make changes if needed. Work with affiliates on any needs they have and check emails sales and work on reports
2pm to 3pmhave meetings with departments on upcoming sales ( I am the moderator at this meeting) I keep people on task I try to get people to give ideas that we could test in emails. I start getting the appropriate send lists for the upcoming email sends. I check previous bounce rates and spam rates.
3pm to 4pmWork with other departments (Pharmacy, creative) to get new article and new ideas for emails. Talk to merchandising to find out what products are good to promote and find ways to increase orders for low sales weeks.
4pm to 5pmStart slacking if I’m not to busy. Figure out what has to go out tomorrow and make sure it has all been ok’d by proofers. Set up my email sends to go out. Make a to-do list for the next day and recheck my work email for any needed followups.
5pm to 6pmGo sometime here
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume, came in for interview and waited

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. 1 interview, I interviewed with my current manager, It consisted of very basic marketing questions.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what experience do you have with marketing. Are you computer literate. Can you manage time well.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, it was a new position that wasn’t fully defined

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No just lots of research and reading

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I took marketing classes and I have programming and networking degrees so I am very familiar with computers and running multiple programs

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take classes in Marketing, search online to see what companies are currently doing with their email marketing.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skill, the ability to work with minimal supervision, time balancing, social skills, the ability to work with multiple vendors.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
On the job training is the best way to go

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
research research research

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now.

What are your current career goals?
I like what I do and can see myself staying here and makeing a great email program

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s an ever changing field that keeps you on your toes.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales/Accountant1 year40000sold fireplaces on a commission basis and did all the accounts receivable/payable
Prior Job 2Web Analyst2 years30000updated content for 2 websites, worked closely with programmers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.75

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75NicoletCIS Programming & CIS Netowrking
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.