Operations Manager (Female, Age 27) in Concord, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Operations Manager in Concord, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOperations Manager
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationConcord, NC
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Independent Financial Adviser; 2 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Paperwork/applications; scheduling; supplies; minor bookkeeping; record-keeping.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1weeks vacation; 5 days sick leave; PPO Health Insurance; no retirement or pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like this because it breaks the monotony of working in a 2 person office. I also enjoy getting to know our clients on a more personal level in order to better help them with their finances.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office complex. I enjoy working here because it feels safe, especially when leaving late at night; it is also centrally located to other local businesses that I frequent. I do not enjoy the location because it is somewhat isolated.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSleep
8am to 9amWake up, get ready for work.
9am to 10amArrive at work; check messages and emails; review calendar and tasks for the day; text boss with any updates. Rescheduled all appts for today since boss was out sick.
10am to 11amComplete pending life insurance application. Mail out via UPS.
11am to 12pmFile papers electronically;
12pm to 1pmLunch.
1pm to 2pmOffice depot to pick up supplies.
2pm to 3pmMake follow up calls to various financial companies to check on status of pending service work and new business.
3pm to 4pmWrap up day. Return calls and emails; mail out applications or other paperwork. Text boss the schedule for Monday.
4pm to 5pmClean up office (vacuum, take out trash, clean desks and tables).
5pm to 6pmClose office; turn off lights; close blinds; set alarm
6pm to 7pmOut of office. I’m at yoga or class.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Personal contact

What was the application process?
In-person interview and brought paper resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One interview with the owner and former Operations Manager. It was very simple; I have since moved up and taken over the Operations Manager position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Details about my activities while I was a student; future goals.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I was given a few contacts to call if I needed help with something. For the most part, I had to train myself.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My education prepared me for thinking quickly and analytically. It also conditioned me to work with a variety of people.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No. I did a legal internship; I work in finance. There are transferable skills such as interpersonal communication, professionalism, etc.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get to know people in your area that work in the field and network. It’s cliche, but it’s true.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
This is a job that requires a combination of people and technical skills. You must be able to engage the clients and make them feel welcome and secure. You must also be able to analyze their needs and investments to determine the best approach for their financial planning.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as you can from as many people as you can; do not get frustrated if you don’t understand something right away or if things go wrong. Always remember that if your stress level gets too high, take a step back and breathe.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
For now, yes. I am still in graduate school, so it is very convenient for me to maintain this job as part of my overall career plan.

What are your current career goals?
Finish my Master’s in Spanish Translation. I would like to work/travel internationally as well. In addition, I am currently saving money for my future and would like to continue to do so.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I have considered making finance my primary career, however I find myself returning to a need for greater social and environmental concern. My personal values are more in line with public service than the individual services we provide here. However, I am grateful for what I have and try to learn from every opportunity.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service Representative3 months30000Property and Casualty Insurance Customer Service Rep. Call center.
Prior Job 2Spanish Intern6 monthsN/ASpanish intern for translations and in-office interpreting for family law

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7UNC CharlotteBA/International Studies and Phil
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4UNC CharlotteMasters Spanish Translation

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.