Bookkeeper (Female, Age 36) in parlin, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Bookkeeper in parlin, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBookkeeper
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week26
Company Size(not answered)
Locationparlin, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Junk removal company. Has about 13 employees. It goes to someones home or office to clean out unwanted junk and trash.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Payroll, billing, paying bills, A/R A/P

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes and I like working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Small office building

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amarrive at work 9 am. file away documents, get bank deposits ready
9am to 10amCall customers to schedule and confirm the appointments
10am to 11amout to go to bank and post office
11am to 12pmpay some bills, enter data into quickbooks
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmfinish up with phone calls or return calls from customer
2pm to 3pmfile away all paid bills and other paperwork
3pm to 4pmdown time. finish up whatever is needed.
4pm to 5pmend of day is 4pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend. who wa also my customer at another Job.

What was the application process?
electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No because it was a friend of mine.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
the only thing I was asked what if i knew computers and what salary I was interested in.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I was told what I was to do on a daily basis. IE payroll, and bill paying

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No. I didnt need any

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I did a lot of business management in school

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just to know computers certain payroll programs and knowing basic math.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would need lots of patience, consistency and organization skills. Should be able to use a computer and certain programs.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No. Just need knowledge of computers.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take it slow and have fun. Learn as you go.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I wanted to always work in an office and work with bookkeeping

What are your current career goals?
I have my goals

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1asst. manager1030000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.