Shipping Manager 

(Male, Age 23) from White Settlement, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Shipping Manager in White Settlement, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Shipping Manager
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location White Settlement, TX
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We repair and sell Avionics equipment all around the world, based out of Spinx air field and have been in business 10 plus years.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Custodial duties, receiving packages, creating work tickets, inventory shipping materials, and ship packages appropriately.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
full medical health care, and 2 weeks vacation time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I work well with people and wouldn’t like any other way.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Our facility is based out of an air plane hanger quite large in size. A lot of my work is done in the office and it is pleasing.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 3

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
interview only.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. It was more of a training process in which i was evaluated on overall performance.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t recall specifics.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. Worked closely with former shipping manager till i was ready to take over.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I started work at UPS which gave me adequate work experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very tedious and pay attention to detail. Computer skills are a plus.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some tranning.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Find fulfillment and enjoyment out of hobbies and other things cause you wont find it a t work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I am more interested in art.

What are your current career goals?
Finish school and find a career that pays well and coincides with my hobbies.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Assistant manager 2 years 10 an hour Sales and photography.
Prior Job 2 Unloading 7 months 10 an hour unload, forklift.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:N/A

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 TCC N/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.