Certified Medical Assitant (Female, Age 27) in Plover, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Certified Medical Assitant in Plover, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCertified Medical Assitant
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPlover, WI
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a clinic. There are approximately 1000 employees at this location.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Room patients, schedule tests, check vitals.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, vacation, sick time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis. I like it because I am so social and love having people around.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my job from the company website

What was the application process?
I submitted my application online and then brought my resume to the interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had two interviews. I was interviewed by one person. She asked a lot of questions about my healthcare knowledge and my people skills.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do you want to be a Medical Assistant? What do you do if you have a co-worker conflict? What would you do if you saw a co-worker taking company property home?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I received excellent training and still do if I need assistance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I went to technical College for 4 semesters.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I specifically went to school for this. It is essential to go to school for this.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Well, they would have to get a degree in Medical Assisting. Then they should apply for the application and send in a resume.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Medical knowledge, excellent people skills, flexibility

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes. you need schooling to learn about the medical aspect of the job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them that the job is great. you get to meet new people all the time and are an important part of the medical team. It can get stressful sometimes from the things you see, but it is well worth it when you help a person.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I chose this as my career because I love healthcare.

What are your current career goals?
I eventually would like to go on to be a registered nurse.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my career. It keeps you on your toes and you are always doing something different.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Rural Mail Carrier5 years17.00/hourI delivered mail in rural areas part-time
Prior Job 2Machinist3 years10.00/hourRan a machine that made parts for airplanes.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Mid-State tech CollegeMedical Assistant
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.