Professor (Female, Age 28) in Carmichael, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Professor in Carmichael, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProfessor
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCarmichael, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the University of Phoenix as a professor and teach nutrition courses online. This university offers courses at its campus in Arizona as well as for students who take courses remotely online.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As the professor, I set up the course and the gradebook for the students. I interact with students daily in discussions on various topics in the nutrition field and respond to any questions they may have. I am responsible for grading assignments submitted and assigning final grades.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
N/A

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact with students on a daily basis, but this is entirely online. I enjoy working with students, as they learn from me and I learn from them. It is interesting to understand their thought process in mastering the subject of nutrition.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work from home, as my job is online. I like this aspect of the job, as it does not require commuting. I am able to make my own schedule at home, which is convenient.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI generally wake up around 7:30 and take personal time until 8.
8am to 9amDuring this time, I review the online forums and the work that has been submitted from the day before. I might respond to discussion posts for a whole hour. This would involve reading student posts, marking them as substantive or unsubstantive, and providing responses to move the discussion forward.
9am to 10amI begin grading assignments submitted from the day before and entering grades as I go. This involves entering comments into the assignment with grammar and spelling corrections, as well as comments regarding content.
10am to 11amI continue grading assignments and entering grades. Entering grades involves entering the numerical score and uploading the attachment with feedback.
11am to 12pmI continue grading assignments and entering grades. I use the same rubric to grade every assignment and fill in the individual feedback.
12pm to 1pmLunch break.
1pm to 2pmI continue grading assignments and entering grades. Assignments vary in length; some are only one page, while others may be five pages.
2pm to 3pmI continue grading assignments and entering grades.
3pm to 4pmI continue grading assignments and entering grades.
4pm to 5pmA half-hour break; respond to e-mails from students as well as personal emails during the other half hour.
5pm to 6pmContinue responding to e-mails and resolving any student issues that arise with grades. For example, students may question why they received a certain grade or may have a problem with the website.
6pm to 7pmDinner break.
7pm to 8pmPersonal time.
8pm to 9pmPersonal time.
9pm to 10pmPersonal time.
10pm to 11pmPersonal time.
11pm to 12amPersonal time.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had a phone interview for my current job. This was relatively short and not a difficult process.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I am unable to recall the specifics of the interview at this time.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, leading the course under supervision was a very good way to prepare, and I knew exactly what to do when I started on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I completed training with a mentor, in which I led a course online under the supervision of my mentor. This was a regular 9-week course, but I was required to submit my posts to my mentor before posting in the course.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my doctoral degree provided me with a wide range of experience in the field, as well as teaching experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I completed an internship in the clinical realm, which was something I did not cover to a great degree in my studies. Both experiences were very useful.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that someone first obtain a Master’s degree or Ph.D. in the field in which he/she would like to teach, as this is required to work at a university. After that, I would recommend that he/she seek teaching experience, as this will help him/her in teaching online.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skills are important, as teaching online requires keeping track of student papers and grades, as well as responding in a timely way to questions. It is also important to have communication skills, as teaching online requires interaction with students in daily discussions.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, one needs a graduate degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would say that teaching becomes easier and easier; once you have taught a course, it is much easier to teach it the second time. The first class will be the most difficult. After you have mastered all of the aspects of teaching, everything runs smoothly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, my goal was to teach after obtaining my doctoral degree. I would, however, like to move back into the physical classroom instead of teaching online.

What are your current career goals?
My career goal is to obtain a teaching position at a university outside the U.S., as well as to conduce research in the community.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is enjoyable and not too difficult.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Graduate student researcher4 years20000I conducted a research study in the community under the supervision of my advisor. I was involved in budget writing and composition of reports.
Prior Job 2Instructor2 years10000I was an instructor for basic nutrition courses at a community college. I gave lectures, assigned grades and interacted with students on a daily basis.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9University of California, Santa BarbaraPsychology, B.A.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8University of California, DavisNutrition, Ph.D.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.