Editorial Assistant (Female, Age 23) in Fort Lee, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Editorial Assistant in Fort Lee, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEditorial Assistant
Salary$29,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week65
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFort Lee, NJ
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are an online service that specializes in gift consultation.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I test our site and I assume basic editorial tasks such as editing and writing newsletters.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, two weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, it does. It is the premise of my job and I sort of dislike it since some members of our team are surly.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is in an office and it’s okay except the building needs major maintenance renovations.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amwake up and walk to work
8am to 9amhour early – I make coffee for the office and tidy up my desk and sort through customer and business emails in outlook
9am to 10amI begin product research and add all information to my excel sheet.
10am to 11amoffice meeting for half an hour and then half an hour
11am to 12pmI test the website for bugs.
12pm to 1pm15 minutes lunch and then I correspond with customers who need tech support
1pm to 2pmI conduct media outreach calls.
2pm to 3pmI create powerpoints for supervisors based on their research.
3pm to 4pmI change product images on the site with help of supervisor.
4pm to 5pmI comment on blogs and write assist editor with writing blog posts
5pm to 6pmwrap up all work and send it to my supervisor
6pm to 7pmcustomer care shift (from home)
7pm to 8pmcustomer care shift (from home)
8pm to 9pmcustomer care shift (from home)
9pm to 10pmcustomer care shift (from home)
10pm to 11pmcustomer care shift
11pm to 12amshower and sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
craigslist

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was only a one on one interview and I was hired on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my technical skills primarily.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No because my position ended up changing and not being based on my training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. It involved two weeks of shadowing my supervisor and testing the site.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I feel secure in terms of practical knowledge and verbal/writing skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
No I would not.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills, mastery of Excel, research and writing skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
college BA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient and considerate of your team members.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, because I want to focus on writing not internet business and sales.

What are your current career goals?
To become a television journalist or freelance photography.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I wouldn’t call it a career per say because it’s not what I am passionate about and plan on returning to school to focus on journalism.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Editorial Intern1 year0I assisted editors with administrative duties and wrote pieces eventually for the magazine.
Prior Job 2Computer Technician3 years2000I troubleshooted student computer issues.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:N/A

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6New York UniversityEnglish and Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.