Disability Program Navigator (Female, Age 35) in Mesa, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Disability Program Navigator in Mesa, AZ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDisability Program Navigator
Salary$29,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMesa, AZ
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Government, Capacity Building, Information and Referall, Outreach and Education, Service Collabration.I am there in a One Stop Employment Center as a role to serve the disabled population. My role is to education staff, community and job seekers on disability related issues. I work on educating the community on services available in one stops and the inclusion of people with disabilities. I educate and Navigate the job seeker on resources in the community that could support them on their needs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I serve on boards , commissions, organizations and work with community tasksboards to assist with systematic change for people with disabilities. I do presentations in the community to ensure education on workforce development for a person with disability. I provide training to one stop center staff and community agencies.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
State retirement, annual leave and sick leave , health insurance , dental, vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My whole job is about working with people and my job is regarding supporting agencies, departments, and jobseekers to ensure they receive what they need.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Yes, we are all at different sites my co-workers and I email and we connect on staff meetings .

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resumes, Six contacts called the supervisor, applied online, work with Vocational Rehab

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview , mY supervisor Dpn lead , individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Tell me about your job history? Name six independent living centers? Name at least 20 disability agencies.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he took job shadowing in other counties to see how others do their job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Hands on training, a large book on access for all in workforce development, and cd’s from various conferences, also a technical assistance website for Dpn’s to to learn resources and tools

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No I feel my job experience and my personality prepared me for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Volunteerism and interniships help in my job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To research and become educated on resources, the community, have a large understanding of all disability. If you have a disability learn about advocacay and self education of your needs , accomodations and desires.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Networking, communication, social skills, organizations, patience, empathy, planning,partnerships, relationships building

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Marketing, customer service, Bachelor’s , understanding of Disability issues and needs

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be strong, passionate, compassionate, relationship building, patience , empathy, partnerships. Research on disabilities.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, but I would like to focus all on outreach and marketing.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to pursue my career in Marketing. I would like to write my self help books, public speak at workshops, and be a keynote speaker, start a music, perfume, clothing and shoe line .

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am a magician and I am ready to wave my wand and bring to the next level. I am a Disability specialist and I am ready to take it into the corporate level.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Community Relations4 years28500Director of Development , Program , social and recreation, partnerships, Volunteer Management, Community building, support staff for special events
Prior Job 2americorps member10 months8000Service to my community. Service to my host site, Planned events and programs for the mentally ill.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.75NauSociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.