Accounting Clerk 

(Female, Age 27) from Mount Pleasant, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Accounting Clerk in Mount Pleasant, FL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accounting Clerk
Salary $28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Mount Pleasant, FL
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Homes and Land, Magazine

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do A/R, A/P, mainly data entry.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, vacation, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i work with others, i like interacting with other people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I got to work at about 7:30 this morning. I clocked in then I went and got my coffee and started working. The first think I do is print out the credit card reports and put them in the daily spreadsheet. Then I print out three copies and give them to the appropriate people.
8am to 9am Next I go through my email and print out the credit cards that need to be run and the invoices that need to be generated. I then do the invoices that need to be done.
9am to 10am Next I run all the credit cards that came in since yesterday. After running them I email any declines back to the customers.
10am to 11am After that, I post up the payments. I apply them to the oldest invoics first unless the spreadsheet has the invoice they want them applied to on it.
11am to 12pm I go to lunch between 11-12.
12pm to 1pm When i return from lunch I do more credit cards and posting of the payments. I may have some checks to deposit as well. I take the checks and endorse them and then scan them and upload them to the bank website.
1pm to 2pm I post up the check payments and the credit card payments.
2pm to 3pm If anymore cards have come in by now then I will run them and email back any declined cards.
3pm to 4pm I will post up the credit card payments and generate invoices that need to be sent out.
4pm to 5pm During the last hour of work, i just make sure I have everything done that needs to be done before I call it a day.
5pm to 6pm I commute back home between 5 and 6pm.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
sure, i plan to work until i have children

What are your current career goals?
none really

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 ACCOUNTING CLERK 1 YEAR 12/HOUR enter deposits, take deposits to bank, apply deposits to invoices in computer
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 university of florida n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.