Financial Service Specialist (Female, Age 24) in Robertsdale, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Financial Service Specialist in Robertsdale, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Service Specialist
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRobertsdale, AL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The organization I work for is large, with 10,000+ locations in the South East United States. It offers financial products and service to businesses and consumers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work as a customer service representative- I assist with customer questions, problems, opening new accounts and completing applications for loans.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days vacation, 11 sick days, Blue Cross Blue Shield health insurance, matched 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with co-workers and customers. I like working with others, but dislike dealing with angry customers and complaints.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small office. I enjoy being close to my co-workers and getting to know them. I dislike the lack of privacy.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amIn the morning I check my e-mail and return phone calls to co-workers. I also look over cases from the day before and make notes to call our customers later in the day. At this time I also organize my desk and paperwork. Sometimes there is a brief meeting in the morning.
9am to 10amCalled customers updating on their situations. Answer incoming phone calls and help people at my desk. Also complete notes on the computer of customer relationships.
10am to 11amCall potential customers with special offers and promotions. Encourage them to open accounts. Continue to assist customers at my desk and on the phone.
11am to 12pmAssist with customer questions about fees and accounts. Open new account and describe other services and products we offer. Answer phone and help people at my desk.
12pm to 1pmN/A
1pm to 2pmContinue to do similar tasks. Brief phone call with manager concerning a customer and their account. Print weekly reports, read and pass them on to co-workers to go over.
2pm to 3pmAssist customer with loan questions. Fill out loan application and wait on results. Contact customer with results and items needed for further use. Update notes on customer.
3pm to 4pmMake list of recent sales and send e-mail to manager. Continue to make phone calls to prospective customers. Balance ATM and Vault with a teller.
4pm to 5pmGo over To Do list for the day and make sure everything is completed. Make last minute phone calls. Send out paperwork and complete customer notes on the computer. Organize desk and lock files inside desk.
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 2 interviews. One with HR, and one with the branch manager. The interviews are individual and are focused on scenarios and past experiences.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How would you encourage a customer to buy a service or product? How do you behave when you have an angry or upset customer?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was fully prepared and knew what to do in most situations.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, it was one or two weeks’ worth of computer based training and an additional two weeks worth of one-on-one training in the branch.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my college degree in business helped me to understand how the bank works and how our business customers operate.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Prepare a resume focused about customer service and sales experiences.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I would recommend having excellant communication and people skills. Also, sales experience is helpful and essential to this job.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, College.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Customer service is more important than sales.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, by working at a bank I have several options and ways to work my way up the career ladder.

What are your current career goals?
To become an assistant branch manager.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Association1.5 years21000Sales associate in Cosmetics Department. Responsible for meeting a sales quota, setting up merchandise, serving customers at cash register,etc.
Prior Job 2Customer Service2.5 years17000Worked at cash register as customer serivce representative. Handled transactions, exchanges, returns, setting up merchandise.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.65

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5University of West FloridaB.A. in Business Administration/ Major in Management Information Systems/ Minor in Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.