Market Surveyor (Female, Age 46) in Seymour, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Market Surveyor in Seymour, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarket Surveyor
Salary$23,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSeymour, TN
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Currently working for an organization where we do market research via telephone on a variety of things. Some of them are legal issues, some are real estate related and some are product related. The organization currently consists of approximately 300 employees in a variety of positions and is a market research firm.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Make telephone calls to individuals and businesses in an effort to obtain information on a variety of products and/or services that the person or businesses have encountered.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Sick leave, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others indirectly in a minimal capacity. We all work from home so the most contact I have with the co-workers is by email, telephone or instant messaging.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office. I love working from home in my current position because it allows me the opportunity for more flexibility.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amClock in at 7 am and begin working on emails and voicemails received while off. This generally consists of messages left from those that I have called on my previous shift or those messages with updates from supervisors.
8am to 9amPhone calls begin at 8:30 am, begin calling contacts as assigned. Calls are made individually and we generally go through the process of asking questions based on certain criteria assigned to the individual or business.
9am to 10amContinue assigned phone calls and update database accordingly.
10am to 11amPhone calls continue with database being updated during and after each phone call.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmReturn from lunch and check emails, voicemails and answer each accordingly.
1pm to 2pmContinue phone calls at approximately 1:30 pm and update database.
2pm to 3pmPhone calls continue with database being updated.
3pm to 4pmPhone calls continue with database being updated.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found in through a work from home community online.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and application via email, was called for interview, went through testing and was hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one telephone interview that was basically very simple and most of the questions that were asked were pertaining to my previous experience in a work from home environment and customer service.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember exactly what they were, but many of them were related to the information on my resume and validation of my experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely, yes. The employer touched base on just about every scenario we may face as well as system training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was a full 2 weeks of training via telephone and webinars as well as follow up testing after the webinars.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had a great deal of training in computer operations as well as customer service certifications and call center certifications.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
There wasn’t an internship. NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
The best way to get a job like I have is to browse around the work from home communities online or possibly craigslist.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are important and they would also need to be experienced in customer service. It’s important to be well organized and have basic knowledge of computer operations on a windows based system.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least a high school diploma

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take advantage of the training that is provided and make sure you put the training in use when you actually get on the job. Good training makes all the difference in the world.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It’s not necessary part of my initial career plan but at my age, I am completely content with where I am at this point.

What are your current career goals?
To continue to expand on my current position and possibly be promoted to supervisor at some point.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Overall, I love what I do and wouldn’t trade it for my past experiences.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales supervisor7 years26000Sales supervisor for car care products.
Prior Job 2Hospitality6 years17800Management of call center for a group of hotels where we made reservations and sold vacation packages.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Kaplan UniversityBusiness Adm/Paralegal Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.