Program Assistant (Female, Age 26) in Fountain, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Program Assistant in Fountain, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProgram Assistant
Salary$21,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFountain, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
non-profit social assistance agency for low-income population. 14 staff members at five different centers in el paso county

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Interacted with clients, program staff, volunteers, and the general public on a daily basis

●Communicated with clients and conducted initial screenings to determine their short-term and long-term needs

●Informed clients of required documentation needed for appointments to get assistance.

●Determined client eligibility financially in accordance with programmatic guidelines

●Provided direct assistance to clientele under the guidance of my supervisor

●Helped plan and assist with special programs and attended special events

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
paid time off, sick leave,health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes with staff,volunteers,and community. My boss crosses boundaries with clients

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office,not enough space for food pantry

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet ready to go to work. Finish packing up for the day.
8am to 9amMake my way to work as it starts at 9am.
9am to 10amMake coffee. Prep morning cart to put out with food inside of it. Return voicemails and emails.
10am to 11amMorning appts to determine financial eligibility for clients. Sign up clients for special programs
11am to 12pmReturn more voicemails to vendors and clients. Compile info for special programs. Organize food pantry
12pm to 1pmClosed for lunch.Get mail and sort and deliver. Free time to do anything I want within time limit
1pm to 2pmMore voicemails to return.Data to enter. Paperwork to fill out and sort.
2pm to 3pmOrganize food pantry with cooperation of lots of volunteers.
3pm to 4pmGet ready for day to be done at 5pm. Check to do list and tie up lose ends
4pm to 5pmEnd of day – sometimes slow and sometimes fast. Repeat and go over tasks done earlier in day. Sometimes time to search for free resources for clients.
5pm to 6pmAt home, or running errands.Computer time,checking personal email.
6pm to 7pmDinnertime
7pm to 8pmWatch tv till sleep
8pm to 9pmSleep
9pm to 10pmSleep
10pm to 11pmSleep
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview with center coordinator and human resourcs secretary

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Behavioral interview questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had a week of full preparation and a 90 day review

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training except for random workshops when schedules allowed

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I took all the relevant classes just didn’t have the life experiences yet.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I had to dive into a social worker role with clients right away

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Look for non-profit agencies to volunteer at then pursue opening

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills and a people person,organizational skills to maintain confidentiality,and technical skills because job surrounds computers and office equipment skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
College degree of any sort- bachelor’s or above

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Your not in it for the money. Don’t get burnt out quickly

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not really,I needed a job and it was in social work. Will work for ten years in any non-profit to pay off student loans and have them forgiven

What are your current career goals?
Get new job that is more fulfilling. Obtain Master’s degree in Social Work and pick specialization. Volunteer at other nonprofits

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A at the moment

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Program Assistant2 years20400Daily interaction with clients helping with financial assistance and food pantry needs
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Colorado State University-PuebloBachelors of Social Work
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.