Cna (Female, Age 38) in johnson city, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Cna in johnson city, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCna
Salary$19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationjohnson city, TN
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an assisted living facility.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist the elderly with their every day activities

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does require me to work with others on a daily basis. I like everything about my job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a hospital type setting. There is nothing that I dislike about my working location. I like working in that area because I am always close to a doctor if needed.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amslept till 8am
8am to 9amgot up ate breakfast
9am to 10amtook a shower, got dressed
10am to 11amWent to the grocery store and done my grocery shopping for the week.
11am to 12pmWent home and put away the groceries, done my dishes.
12pm to 1pmPlayed Playstation.
1pm to 2pmGot ready for work and left to go to work at 1:30pm.
2pm to 3pmClocked in at work….started a dry run on my patients.
3pm to 4pmFinished the dry run on patients, emptied garbage.
4pm to 5pmPassed out dinner trays to patients.
5pm to 6pmHelped patients feed themselves.
6pm to 7pmCollected dinner trays, started a dry run on patients.
7pm to 8pmFinished the dry run on patients. Got patients ready for bed.
8pm to 9pmDone charting.
9pm to 10pmFinished charting, done dry run on patients.
10pm to 11pmclocked out and left work at 10:30pm, drove home, ate dinner and went to bed at 11pm
11pm to 12amslept

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume, done a call back

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
My interview entailed what my other jobs were like, did I get along well with my coworkers, why did I quit my other job, my expected pay rate.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My interview entailed what my other jobs were like, did I get along well with my coworkers, why did I quit my other job, my expected pay rate.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes I did 6 weeks in school cna training learning how to care for other people, take vital signs and give baths

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no it didnt. it didnt teach that sometimes families of the people that I take care of can be real jerks to get along with…it didnt teach that most people are just rude and expect way more than a person can give

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school and get your cna license first then be sure to do some hands on training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
excellent people skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
have a backbone of steel and dont get your feelings hurt easily

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes it is a step up

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are being met

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CNA1 year18000Assisting the elderly with their every day activities.
Prior Job 2cna1 year15000Assisting the elderly with their every day activities.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.