Quick Server (Female, Age 32) in orlando, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Quick Server in orlando, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleQuick Server
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationorlando, FL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Universal Studios theme park Islands of Adventure, in one of their quick service restaurants. I work as a server, food preparer, and cashier.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties are to open the restaurant, and prepare the outside area for the guests, count out my cash drawer to make sure it contains the right amounts of money, prepare the guest food, and make sure the guest area, and kitchen area are kept clean. Also to clean up the area I have worked in that day.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
free park passes, merchandise discounts, some health insurance and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact and work with others on a daily basis. I enjoy this at times because it keeps the work interesting when you have others around. When you are working alone it can get rather boring.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a restaurant, I like it because it is indoors and you are away from the heat, except when you are in the kitchen (which I really dislike), unlike the outdoor vendors who are in the hot/cold weather most of the day.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amLeft for work
8am to 9amArrived at work, had to open the restaurant. Setup outside condiments and filled napkin despensers. Made sure area around tables were cleaned. Removed covers from cash registers and put them in the storage room.
9am to 10amMade a bale at the baler, and threw out trash from boxes used to stock the refrigerators and freezer. Changed out the empty soda dispensers, and loaded the dairy coolers in the front of the restaurant with milk, juice, and premade desserts and salads. Helped prep the kitchen area for the food being prepared.
10am to 11amCounted out money for till. Verified amount with banker. Opened up register to customers and took orders from first customers. Was an employees birthday and manager had everyone, even the guests that were at the counter sing happy birthday to her. Continued to take orders from guest.
11am to 12pmGreeted guests at my register, and guests walking in the park. Cleaned up the area around my register. Pointed a guest in the direction of guest service. Chatted with a guest about the Shrek 4D simulator attraction.
12pm to 1pmTook my 15 minute break at 12pm. Took over in the drink station. Prepared drinks for order and put any desert or salad ordered on tray and passed to person getting the food for the order. Refilled ice in drink station. Cleaned counter where guest receive food.
1pm to 2pmWas asked by guest what kind of dressing was used in the salad, and if they could have the recipe for the rub used on our ribs. Called the chef over to give her the rub recipe and tell her the dressing used in the salad. Had to prepare more salads for the cooler, and get someone to replace the beer dispenser in the back cooler because it was only making foam.
2pm to 3pmLeft work at 2:15p.m.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember, to long ago.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel my trainer taught me just about everything I needed to know, and answered any questions I had.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Trained to open and close restaurant. How to ring in guest orders on the register. How to prepare food, and store and date it. Trained to deal with guest complaints. Shown where the most important areas of the park are located in case a guest is in need of help, whether it be medical, or because someone in their party is missing.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
NA

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just be yourself, show you have a fun side. Be willing to interact with the guest and be willing to go above and beyond your responsibilites to please the guest.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
No skills are necessary. Learn all you need to know on the job.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have fun, and bring your own ideas of fun to work. Be creative in interacting with the guest, and don’t be afraid to be yourself.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I hope to be promoted to a management position one day, only because it would mean better pay, and I do enjoy my work. There aren’t many jobs that let you have fun, and interact with the guest, whether you’re making up little activities for the kids to do while they wait for their food, or singing happy birthday to unsuspecting guest.

What are your current career goals?
To be promoted to management whether in the restaurant I currently work in, or else where in the park.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not at the moment.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Selector2 year15Was a selector in a warehouse for a grocery store.
Prior Job 2Associate3 years10.5built bikes, customer service, cart attendant

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1Valencia UniversityAccounting/ Associate of Business Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.