Advising Assistant For Disability Services (Female, Age 29) in Erlanger, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Advising Assistant For Disability Services in Erlanger, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdvising Assistant For Disability Services
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
LocationErlanger, NY
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A college, for disability services we are a small section of the college as a whole maybe 10 people working in this office/field total.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
advising and assisting those with disabilities.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sick leave, absent leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, this is the point of my career. I love it as I am a people person and I am able to assist others in the process.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office in a college. It is close to home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amheading to work.
8am to 9amSetting up for the day, morning meeting, first visit.
9am to 10amMeeting with student or test for student.
10am to 11amMeet with student or test for student.
11am to 12pmLunch break, filing paper work forms for students previously seen.
12pm to 1pmMeet with student or test for student.
1pm to 2pmIn class observation of student or students.
2pm to 3pmIn class observation of student or students. End of work day at 2:45.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was a student at the college and had my now superviser as a professor.

What was the application process?
Submit an electronic application and resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, there is 2 interviews one with the director and one with the supervisor. They as a handful of questions.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How you would handle several situations. What you feel is most important to this job from several choices.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
We went over in detail what was acceptable as a disability.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, on what you are to do in situations, how to use the office equipment and how to do several types of test depending on needs of student.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had taken several computer classes. These furthered my ability to provide needed information in a quick manner. I was also a student at the same college, this provides insight on what the students may stress over.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply online with a highlighting your wow factor. Follow up with your application and come in. This shows persistence and the want for the career.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication and organization are a must. We also require typing skills. Upon the obvious of being able to stay on task and help others.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Associates degree in business related field is preferred.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To study what different disabilities you may come across. As you will understand the person you are working with better if you know what their disability details.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love what I do and would like to retire from my career when it comes time.

What are your current career goals?
I eventually would like to become a supervisor or a full time advisor for students as a whole.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
To be open minded when you apply for a job like this.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cashier4 years16000 yearlyScan items from guests, take different forms of payment, and bag their items.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5BeckfieldMedical Assistant
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.