Waitress/Hostess (Female, Age 26) in Ormond Beach, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Waitress/Hostess in Ormond Beach, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Waitress/Hostess
Salary $16,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Ormond Beach, FL
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at a small restraunt at a local golf course. Our restraunt staff is about 13 people. The gold course maintenance staff is about 50 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i have to clean my tables, stock my tables, take customers food orders, bring customers their food orders, collect money and cash out customers, clean my station,

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job entails me working with others everday and allday long. I personally enjoy working with others. This allows you to receive help if you need it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I woek in a small restraunt. The kitchen is a little small and I dislike that especially when it is busy. The dining area is a decent size, not to big and not to small.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Got to work at 6:30 AM. Made 2 pots of regular coffee and 1 pot of decaf coffee. Put jams and creamers on each table. Opened up the cash register and counted my starting drawer to make sure that it was correct.
8am to 9am Waited on a few tables. Took orders from customers and relayed them via tickets to the kitchen. The kitchen rings the bell and that means my order is up, so I bring it to the customers.
9am to 10am My hostess arrives and she takes over the cash register. She also helps me clean tables.
10am to 11am My hostess and I begin getting ready for lunch. We take off the jams and creamers and replace with ketchup and mustard. We check the drawer and get change so we do not have to do it during lunch rush. We arrange crackers for soup orders and write up the lunch specials.
11am to 12pm Lunch rush begins for the next two hours I am consistantly taking food orders and writing them on my tickets and bringing those tickets to the kitchen. The kitchen rings the bell and I look at the table number on the ticket and bring that table there orders. My hostess helps me bus and clean tables.
12pm to 1pm Lunch rush continues. I continue to take food orders and bring them to the kitchen and then bring the food to my customers. I bring my cutomers there checks and tell them to bring them to the hostess at the register when they are ready.
1pm to 2pm Lunch rush ends at about 1:30 PM. We eat lunch and begin cleaning up the mess from lunch. We vacuum the floors, restock the tables, take down the lunch specials board, restock our station in the kitchen, and see if the bar needs change before we count our drawer.
2pm to 3pm Restraunt closes at 3 PM. so we count the drawer and finish cleaning the dining room. We punch out when we are done.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
paper application and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I have one personal interview with the waitstaff manager and she just asked me about my work background and availablity.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What hour I could work? Do you have any experience in this field?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they trained be for a week and I felt well -prepared

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, learning the register and the codes that were used on the register, learning the menu, learning how the kitchen staff prefers the tickets to be written and learning the sidework of the position

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because I know how to speak and communicate with others properly so they understand me and I can write so the kitchen can understand the tickets

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
That presence and personality are a must. They must present themselves in a neat and clean way and have to have a good personality to work in this field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must have social skills, good memory, be able to do more than one thing at a time, be focused, be a people person, and move fast.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, the person must know how to communicate well with others.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is a good job, but there are no major benefits. You work a lot of nights and weekends so be ready for this.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, for the time being until I graduate college.

What are your current career goals?
I am a student working towards my AAS degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s fun but not something I want to do long-term and that is why I am in school.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Waitress 2 years-Current 15000 Waitstaff, communicating with customers, taking orders, relaying orders to kitchen staff, cashing out customers, writing tickets, cleaning tables and workspace
Prior Job 2 Waitress 2 years 16000 Waitstaff, communicating with customers, taking orders, relaying orders to kitchen staff, cashing out customers, writing tickets, cleaning tables and workspace

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.25 DSC AAS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.