Clerk (Female, Age 27) in oakland, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Clerk in oakland, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClerk
Salary$15,800
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationoakland, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at a natural food cooperative (grocery store), about the same size as competing supermarkets. We sell bulk and packaged foods, organic product, herbs and suppliments, and natural body care.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I stock shelves in my department, place orders for my section, assist customers with choosing products, and provide some back-up cashiering.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, 401K,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I like my job, but I wish it paid more.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact with customers on a daily basis. For the most part I enjoy helping them choose products and provide information about diets and food items which may be unfamiliar to them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work both on the floor of our food cooperative and in the stock areas. Our building is generally cheerful and safe – perfectly nice to work in.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am5am-6am

Went through the backstock for my section and stocked whatever items could fit on the shelf.

Began placing orders for more product, based on inventory in backstock and on shelves.

8am to 9am6am-7am

Continuted to place orders for my section.

9am to 10am7am-8am

Short break.

Went over end cap (sale displays) designs with manager and re-arranged the items on the endcaps to make room for more items.

10am to 11am8am-9am

Stocked end caps with sale items and moved extra items to backstock.

Some back up cashiering.

Answered various questions about item locations (I do this throughout the day).

11am to 12pm9am-10am

Went through and stocked frozen department backstock.

Showed customer gluten-free cookies.

Placed special order for natural kitty litter.

12pm to 1pm10am-11am

Lunch

1pm to 2pm11am-12pm

Stocked newly arrived products from pallets to shelves.

Back-up cashiering.

Answered customer questions about soy milk vs. rice milk.

Chatted with a family about fake meats we carry.

2pm to 3pm12pm-1pm

Stocked newly arrived products from pallets to shelves.

Back-up cashiering.

3pm to 4pm1pm-2pm

Went through beer backstock and stocked shelves.

Lots of back-up cashiering

4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I asked a manager if the store was hiring.

What was the application process?
I filled out an application and returned it to a store manager.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was called in for one interview before I was offered the job. The interview only lasted about 15 minutes and was with an assistant department manager. It was very casual.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I only recall the interview topics. He asked me about my personal interests, my experience with the store, and my ability to deal with “different personality types.” He did not ask me to recount my previous work experience, as I had already detailed it in my application.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the training was sufficient (explained above).

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was breifly trained for almost every aspect of the job, although much of it was pretty self-explanitory (ie: stocking the shelves). For the most part, the training involved me shadowing an employee in the same position who explained all aspects of the position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My eduaction has nothing to do with my current position, but did help me become better at managing my time and with organization.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First, I feel that the person should familiarize themselves with the store(s) where they wish to work. Get to know some of the product lines or types of food they sell there (ie: organics, natural foods, bulk food, natual body care, suppliments). Often the store will not post a job ad, so you may need to ask a manager if any department are hiring. Even if they are not hairing at the moments, ask for an application to fill out and have them keep it on file.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Entry level positions here only require moderate customer service skills, and one will be trained on all job requirments. However, if a person wishes to stay employed or to be promoted within their department, it is imparitive that they be trustworthy, personable, able to deal with urgent matters calmly, be very reliable, be highly organized, and most importantly, make efficient use of their time. It is also important that they take an active interest in the product they sell and get to know that needs of their customers. The more one knows about special diets (ie: veganism, wheatfree/gluten free, raw foods), the better one can serve the customers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, all you need is to be reasonably intelligent, willing to learn, and interested in the ideals of the store.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Consider what knowledge you already have about organic and natural foods, special diets, or suppliments and herbs, and take some time to flush out that knowledge through reading. The more you know going into the position, the better you will do when you begin. Some lifting is involved, so remember to stretch thoroughly every morning.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, it is not. I hope to get a job in the arts (my passion) at some point, but for now I am enjoying my job.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to get a job in a fine art gallery or museum and put to use my knowledge of the subject (painting).

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Free food!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1art and framing department2 years$6.00/hrStocked shelves, helped customers pick out supplies and place framing orders.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6privateindividualized major, BFA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.