Sales Floor Manager (Male, Age 18) in Rapid City, SD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 18 who works as a Sales Floor Manager in Rapid City, SD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Floor Manager
Salary$14,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRapid City, SD
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at Shopko, a mid-sized retail store that sells mainly clothes, hardlines, and electronics.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Making sure the store looks good, the customers are happy, and that everything is running smoothly.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other employees and customers throughout the whole work day, and I enjoy it a lot better than I would working alone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I don’t know what to put in this box!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot scheduled
8am to 9amNot scheduled
9am to 10amNot scheduled
10am to 11amNot scheduled
11am to 12pmNot scheduled
12pm to 1pmNot scheduled
1pm to 2pmNot scheduled
2pm to 3pmStart of my shift. I pick up my keys and phone, then proceed to walk around and make sure everything is going smoothly. I let everybody on the floor know what their duties are, and get them on their way.
3pm to 4pmStill walking/straighting/overseeing things.
4pm to 5pmStill walking/straighting/overseeing things.
5pm to 6pmStill walking/straighting/overseeing things.
6pm to 7pmBegin to straighten and organize the items.
7pm to 8pmStill straightening.
8pm to 9pmStill straightening.
9pm to 10pmFinish straighting, return my keys and phone, and spend the rest of the night talking to customers. I have to check the back room to make sure it’s empty before we finally close down the store.
10pm to 11pmClock out and head home!
11pm to 12amClosed

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
“NOW HIRING” banner on the outside of the store

What was the application process?
Electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, it was a single interview with a store manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Just very basic, off-the-top-of-the-head questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I believe they were.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, it was a half day of employee videos followed by a half day of being walked around the store and explained things.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, an education isn’t needed nearly as much as experience in the retail business.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just apply, we’re always hiring new staff so there’s a good chance that anybody that applies will eventually get a call.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills would be the main part, since keeping customers happy is a huge part of the job. A little organization is needed to find where items belong and sorting them out.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Nope, just experience is needed.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t work too hard. 🙂

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, this is just a job to get some money through high school.

What are your current career goals?
Electronics, or graphic art design.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This is a VERY good starter job for anybody under 18. I can’t think of a better job to start in.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Rep7 months12000Dealing with customers, making sure the store was in order.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
naNAna
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
nanana

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.