Office Manager (Female, Age 52) in PUYALLUP, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Office Manager in PUYALLUP, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$12,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week20
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPUYALLUP, WA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small local martial arts school which has 1 owner and several part-time instructors

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for enrolling new students, accepting payments from students & making bank deposits, bookkeeping using QuickBooks, preparing correspondence, brochures, flyers & advertising

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 days vacation per year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am adequately compensated for this part-time job

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with the students, vendors, the owner & his instructors. I enjoy dealing with people everyday-there are so many interesting people in this world and each one contributes something interesting to my day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is a small office area in a martial arts school – I like working in it because it is in a small informal business, yet I can put my stamp on it with a few plants and posters. Due to my extensive office experience, I am able to suggest many ways for streamlining processes and improving documentation.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Nepotism-my husband owns the school

What was the application process?
I had worked in various office settings for over 25 years, so when he set up his school, he asked me to manage the office

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
See above-first question

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes-college classes in accounting, word processing & spreadsheets, graphics programs, and creative writing

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes-I had the skills to perform all the duties of my current position

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They should go to business school or junior college and study word processing, bookkeeping, letter writing, and use of graphics programs. Without these skills, it would be difficult to perform all my daily duties.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to get along well with others, strong math & accounting skills, computer & word processing, and letter-writing skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Training on computers, word processing, accounting and grahics programs are essential for this position

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take as many accounting, word processing and computer classes as you can-with those skills you can be successful in most any office position

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Because of my health problems, this is my career plan. I will continue to work at this job as long as my husband has this school.

What are your current career goals?
Support my husband in his endeavors to make this school successful

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I have worked many full-time interesting jobs in my lifetime-from working for school districts, state government, manufacturing companies & even over 8 years at a nuclear power plant. I have always learned something from one job that I was able to take to the next one. Along the way, I have learned many ways of working more efficiently. This has really helped me to be able to continue working successfully in my current part-time position.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Assistant-PT2 years$10,000 yearTake phone orders from customers, enter orders in computer, track orders for completion, letter writing, billing; filing, assist bookkeeper & fill-in when she was absent
Prior Job 2Office assistant-PT4 months$9.00 per hourAnswer phones & greet clients, filing, copy tax returns, assist in state & federal tax form preparation

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.65

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Green River C.C.Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.