Physician Assistant (Male, Age 33) in fishers, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 33 who works as a Physician Assistant in fishers, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Physician Assistant
Salary $130,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location fishers, IN
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
large multihospital corporation over emergency rooms in 48 states.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
see, diagnose and treat patients in the emergency room

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, life

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
multiple individuals all day. ots ok, depending on the individual and how hard they are willing to work

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
emergency room in large town/large hospital. i like the hospital but the location is somewhat far from home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
only a short face to face meeting with the practice administrator

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
strengths and weaknesses and salary desired

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
so so. at my current position, i was thrust into the busy ER, but this is the environment i flourish in

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
a full 3 year program specific to physician assistants

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely. if you study and work hard, any specific program can prepare you for the job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
really research the position and spend time shadowing on the job

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
analytical, problem solving and interpersonal relation skills are all of the utmost importance

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not only needed but its legal

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do not give up and work hard to make a name for yourself

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i plan to be with this company for a long time. i am gaining er skills i will always use

What are your current career goals?
advance yearly in my position and eventually work closer to home

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not for everyone

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 PA 2 years 125000 see, diagnose and terat patients in teh er
Prior Job 2 PA 2 years 70000 see, diagnose and treat patints in a n orthopedic clinic and surgical setting

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:1.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 University of findlay BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.